Not from Today -17th of September

This will be an irregular series of posts - in these posts I'm going to look back into my archive to see what photos I took this day in previous years

This 'Not from Today' but it is from the 17th of September

Life is full of patterns and even though the places and faces might change the same things keep happening.

So let's start, as we often do 19 years ago.

2002 - Sunny Parkdale

image.png

The place where I grew up - the suburb not this unit in particular - but this very blurry vision of the suburbia is pretty much what it looked like. I spent maybe 6 years in this place staring at my neighbour's shed. This photo taken with a Largan Lmini 350

**2014 - Sunny North Melbourne **

17th of September 2014.jpg

Fast forward twelve years, and I think three houses and the view has changed quite a bit instead of staring into a neighbours yard, my view is of the Melbourne skyline. And the desk at which I'm writing this would be floating somewhere just behind the grey houses in the middle of this shot.

2006 - The Sunset over the water

17th of September 2006.jpg

I should mention that the suburb I speak of growing up in was on the beach in Melbourne, Australia. and this shot is Port Phillip bay and the sun sinking into it. I can tell from the other photos I took that day that we were having a BBQ on the cliffs at Sunset, right at the bottom of Parkers rd for your locals. It was obviously a nice day and we thought this was doable I can also tell we look freezing (and that we end up making pancakes in a friends kitchen later than night so we didn't last long outside) - There appears to be four of us, one of those people I still see, one I'm friends with on social media and one I haven't spoken to in ten years. Seems about right for modern life. Camera - Canon Powershot G5 (which was very fancy for the time).

2018 - The Sunset over the Western Suburbs

17th of September 2018.JPG

Let's jump around in time - but not themes - sunset again. Monday this time and I no longer live in the suburbs, I live in the 'big smoke' in a fancy apartment (the one abscent from the photo taken in 2014) which one of the people I spent 2006 with has been to which I share with someone I hadn't meet in 2006. Oh and cameras (A Fujifilm X-E3 this time) were way better by now (or maybe I just knew how to use it)

2009 - Well this has got weird

17th of September 2009.jpg

This is probably the reason I choose this day - sure a few of the other shots are good - the Osaka one below is a real favourite and it was nice to see photos of my friends in 2006 enjoying ourselves but this is one of those photos that I had forgotten I'd taken but then instantly remembered when I saw it.

It was taken with a Canon 450D - why is that important, because Canon used to run this strange photo competition - It was called Photo5 - they used to select 10,000 amateur photographers and send them a pack with objects in it and you needed to take a photo to that theme. The internet tells me the themes and objects in 2009 were:

Close Up - hundreds & thousands
Splat Action - paint or other opaque liquid in motion
Bokeh Experiment - lens covers
Portraiture - spectacles
Practically Black- open low light shot.

I'm not sure in the Barbie Dolls in a bath of Hundreds and Thousands was my official entry or not but It's still a cool idea.

2016 - Walking in Osaka

17th of September 2016.JPG

My first trip to Japan - I had to go for work and after sitting in boring meetings in boring offices for three days I had a day and half to walk around I discover the city. I loved it, being in a culture that was so foreign all by myself, discovering new places and new things to do. And my Fujifilm X-E2 had gone home.

2017 - Beers in Ballarat

17th of September 2017 - Ballarat.JPG

Frankly I'm surprised there isn't more photos like this in this little project - just random beers that I'm drinking in some pub somewhere. I would have been in Ballarat for their Photography Biennale. If you live in Victoria and you haven't been to this before make a effort to go this year - that's it's on this year - and there will be 100's of photography shows and some of them will be in pubs and when you are those pubs you should stop and have a beer just like we did in 2017. This was taken on my tiny little Fujifilm X70

2019 - Flinders Street

image.png

This is a photo that exists in the time of Steemit/Hive - from a time I was doing a photo a day. Here is what I wrote that day, also the first Cellphone photo - on a Huawei P10...

I used to dream of trains at lot when I was gone, the dream books told me that trains represented going somewhere, progressing in life.

To be fair it wasn't so much being on trains it was more being at stations waiting for a train.

I don't have these dreams anymore, no yearning for progress.

And Finally
**2020 - What does it all mean? **

17th of September 2020.jpg

Another from HIVE when I wrote.

Creeping into you life from time to time, like a memory to be ashamed of, explained away.

I don't know what it means or the memory I was thinking of

And that my friends was my life on the 17th of September but not from today

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency