Selfies in Places - A Collection of Self Portraits in Wild Places

Selfies in Places

A Collection of Self Portraits in Wild Places

The hills in the Kamloops area are rugged and vary from grasslands to vast forests of black spruce. They are an ideal place to explore and learn the art of photography.

oct_2021_dmarkel_self_portrait_collection-5.jpg"The Beach"

This location is very popular for the stunning views and being right beside the highway a lot of people stop here. However most are drawn to the "tourist" spot and won't walk the ten minutes to this overlook.

There are also a few dozen sport climbing routes that start about 70m below my feet. You can either walk another 15 minutes around to the bottom or just rappel (my preferred method) from the anchor chains right at my feet (edited out).
~~

oct_2021_dmarkel_self_portrait_collection-9.jpgJust Walk Away...

This paved path in a local park is set up quite nicely for fall photos. I was a few days late on this occasion but still pretty nice. As you can probably tell from the title this photo was taken during a difficult time in my life. A failing marriage and the uncertainty were weighing on me really heavily at this time. Addiction became a coping method.

I am a bit triggered by this photo but in a way that helps remind me how far I have come since. Without the darkness we cannot see the light.
~~

oct_2021_dmarkel_self_portrait_collection-7.jpgDancing with the Green Lady

I can easily say that this location is my most photographed spot. I have shot here in rain and sun, summer and winter, night and day. I have shot here at my best and my worst. On this night I was at my best and stood there amazed at the display of aurora in front of me.

It is important for a photographer to develop their own list of "Go To" spots that you can race to when you see the sunset about to go off. This spot is about 15 minuted from my house. If you have seen my Pot of Gold NFT it was shot about 50 meters away from this photo.

I will be featuring more photo from my Selfies in Places Collection in the coming week or two.

Follow me to see more.

~~
You can also check out what I am doing on other platforms:
Website
Instagram
Twitter

If you are into NFTs I am on...
OpenSea
Foundation
Tux

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency