Goslings, Ducklings, Mandarin Duck and a Heron at the Local Dam

I popped down to Walton Dam, which is just a 10 minute car drive away from me. I'd heard there had been a kingfisher spotted down there, but sadly, it didn’t make any appearance today. However, I did spot a heron sitting on the branch overlooking the water.

It never moved a muscle and was still perched there when I walked back.

There was also a mandarin duck, which doesn't tend to visit this dam much, so it was a nice surprise.

The mandarin duck was introduced from the Far East and some areas of Russia. It either escaped, or someone released it on purpose from captivity in the UK.

A passerby told me there were some Canada Geese goslings further down the dam. I could only spot one, so I feared the worst that perhaps something had happened to the others.

I didn’t realise that all the other goslings were underneath mum! Phew! Thank goodness they were all safe. It always amazes me that they are walking and swimming within the first day of their little lives.

I also spotted a mallard duck with her ducklings. They were darting about like miniature speed boats, so far too difficult to get a decent photograph.

It was so nice to see a lot of activity on the pond after the bleak winter months, when nothing really happens.

This post is for #sublimesunday inspired by @c0ff33a and #beautifulsunday initiated by @ace108.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency