1. Advent Sunday - The Making of my "Advent Wreath"

img_9892_2_.jpg

( EN / DE )
I wish you all a beautiful 1st Advent Sunday evening. I'm not sure how many of you know this tradition?
In my country it's a very old tradition to light a candle on a wreath on each of the four weekends before Christmas Eve. When the 4th candle is lit, it is the last weekend before Christmas. (or in some years, it is exactly Christmas Eve)
Traditionally it is a wreath made of spruce branches decorated with four candles. But now there are many modern variants, all have in common the 4 candles for the 4 weekends.

I have been creating my personal Advent wreath on a slice of a tree trunk for a few years now. This disc was once part of one of the tree trunks that were built in Bavaria as a raft on the Loisach River. It has been a gift from the rafters to me and for me a very precious memory of a good time with good people.

Below is the series of pictures of how I decorate the wooden disc:

adventsdeko4.jpeg

adventsdeko5.jpeg

adventsdeko6.jpeg

adventsdeko7.jpeg

adventsdeko8.jpeg

adventsdeko9.jpeg

adventsdeko10.jpeg

adventsdeko11.jpeg

adventsdeko12.jpeg

Besides the Advent wreath, there is of course a little more pre-Christmas decoration :-)

adventsdeko.jpeg

adventsdeko13.jpeg

Since I had already finished the wreath yesterday, it was a really, really cozy Sunday today. Now that it has become dark, we will still drink tea together and eat cookies, as we do it at home every Advent Sunday.



DEUTSCH / GERMAN

Ich wünsche euch allen einen schönen 1. Advent Sonntag Abend. Ich bin mir nicht sicher, wieviele von euch diese Tradition kennen?
In meiner Heimat ist es üblich, an den vier Wochenenden vor dem Heiligen Abend eine Kerze an einem Kranz anzuzünden. Wenn die 4. Kerze brennt, ist das letzte Wochenende vor Weihnachten.
Traditionell ist es ein Kranz aus Fichtenzweigen, der mit vier Kerzen geschmückt ist. Es gibt mittlerweile aber auch viele moderne Varianten, alle gemeinsam haben die 4 Kerzen für die 4 Wochenenden. (Die Erklärung hätte ich mir jetzt auf Deutsch warscheinlich sparen können?)

Meinen persönlichen Adventskranz gestalte ich seit ein paar Jahren auf einer Scheibe eines Baumstammes. Diese Scheibe war einmal ein Teil eines der Baumstämme, aus denen in Bayern Flosse an der Loisach gebaut werden. Sie ist ein Geschenk der Flößer an mich gewesen und für mich eine sehr wertvolle Erinnerung an eine gute Zeit mit guten Menschen.

Weiter oben im Text seht ihr die Bilderserie, wie ich die Holzscheibe dekoriere. Außer dem Advents Kranz gibt es natürlich auch noch ein wenig andere vorweihnachtliche Dekoration :-)

adventsdeko14.jpeg

adventsdeko15.jpeg

img_9889.jpg

Da ich den Kranz schon gestern fertig gestellt hatte, war es heute ein wirklich sehr, sehr gemütlicher Sonntag. Jetzt wo es dunkel geworden ist, werden wir noch gemeinsam Tee trinken und Kekse essen, so wie wir es bei uns zu Hause jeden Advents Sonntag machen.

Vier Kerzen im Advent (erster Teil eines Gedichtes von Horst Rehmann)

"Die erste Kerze brennt für Stille
für Ruhe und Gemütlichkeit
für Herzlichkeit und für den Willen
zu leben in Behaglichkeit"

Habt einen schönen Sonntag im Kreise eurer Lieben und bleibt gesund :-) Eure B.



img_9893_2_.jpg

Four candles in Advent (first part of a quote from Horst Rehmann)

"The first candle burns for silence
for peace and comfort
for cordiality and for the will
to live in comfort."

I hope you enjoyed. Have a nice Sunday evening with your loved ones and stay healthy :-) Yours, B.

all photos by @beeber
mostly translated with www.deepl.com

2gsjgna1uruvcmjtx7owvraypfm6wq14fwsdxbpkpqq1g9fwbb7qsdongmiyucqbvedknefldgsixkgywpeznonfbjoajkcnyt1gmms6zznjdmzbft.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency