A different Sunday in 8yrs

Source
Hello guys, I know you might wonder why I chose this topic. It warms my heart to pick this topic and I can say today happens to be a special Sunday, one I have longed to have but which came real after 8years. Eight years? Yeah.

This picture below is my mother and I. (Don't mind the scratch pls)

She visited me 8 years ago when I had my second child. I was so glad and happy for her visit because she was really of help to me. I was very weak and sick after giving birth to my child, but when mummy came, she helped me heal. She was everything to me and really helped me out, cos my mother inlaw was ill too and couldn't come and my hubby was away in some other town, hustling to support the home.

Mum stayed for about two months and left.
After then, Mum couldn't visit again for the past 8years. She is the first child of her family and customarily, she is to take care of her old mother . Her mother fell and became down with stroke, as if that wasn't enough to take her time, her mother in law ( my paternal grandmother) who lives with her even after the death of her husband ( my father), became too sick with old age and confined to bed. She was 103 years .

You can imagine what mum faced taking care of two old women, one down with stroke, passing excrements on diapers and the other doing same thing too because she was sick and too old to stand from the bed and walk. They were both in their separate rooms in our family house and mother took care of them, running from room to room.

Did you know that two years ago both grandma's died in a space of two weeks? As if they planned it. We thought their death would bring relief to mum but she was unhappy because those old women kept her company as well, since her husband- my father had died and all the children are grown and left home.

Long story cut short, mother is here again to visit me after mourning them and regaining strength from the stress she went through, caring for two old women at the same time. Now she can visit her children and rest from her stressful and hard work on those grannies. It's my turn to receive her. Here she is with me, visiting again after 8yrs. I am so excited and it made my Sunday amazing.

I love my mother so much and I happen to be her first daughter, the first grand daughter in the family and of course the first great grand daughter. She is so fond of me when she has time or when she is around.

My family is enjoying her visit. She brought lots of goodies from villa including spices for cooking soup which are mostly eaten during rainy periods. I specially demanded for them. I praise her daily and pray that she lives long for us to enjoy her hard labour. She is my mentor, a God fearing woman and my friend.

Hmm, how time flies, 8 extra years gone and she is still beautiful, wouldn't you say? How about me, did I change much? Don't tell me am fat now. Hahaha
How did your own Sunday go? Is your mum visiting too? Hahaha

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency