Coffee and Deep Thoughts

Coffee has always been my go to drink for whenever I've wanted to keep my mind, body and soul awake and active. One of the qualities that keeps me glued to it is its delectable aroma. The mere concept of it is such an oxymoron because one would not expect something with a divine smell to taste bitter. But then the bitterness adds to the ambience.

Due to my energy levels being naturally high at the peak hours of the morning, I don't usually need to take my coffee during these times. On a normal day, I'm the kind of person that is active during the day and useless at night. I even find it difficult to take naps during the day and my body has kind of adapted to it.


Designed with My Image Using Canva

So as you can imagine, it is hard for me to stay up at night on my own accord. This is where my beloved coffee comes in. When I drink coffee, it's almost like I can conquer the world and get things done. It increases my productivity rate by a 100 %šŸ˜.

My Moment of Self discovery

This happened during a time where I was under a hopelessly crippling amount of stress and pressure. I had multiple works to submit and deadlines to meet for school, and it was starting to look like I was going to drown anytime soon. I was forced to make a decision between failing or getting the tasks done come rain or sunshine.

I chose the latter, and decided to make sacrifices for it, which involved me staying up all through the night. For a period of three weeks I got, on average, 4 hours of sleep everyday and operated mainly on coffee. My eyes developed bags underneath them but at least I was awake and active.

Now this might not seem like much, maybe it is even the reality of some of us here but it is pretty significant to me. I mean prior to that period, I was never awake past 9pm. So morselling up the strength and dedication to do this made me proud of myself. And I would not have done it without my trusty cups of coffee.

Each night as I sat at my desk, a flaming hot cup of dark coffee in hand, clickity clacking away at my laptop, I couldnā€™t help but be amazed at myself for pulling through and getting my work done. On one of those nights, I couldnā€™t help myself and I went into a trance. I recalled all the moments my roommates and I would discuss about studying and when the most ideal time for it was.

Most of them preferred to study at night when the world was asleep. This made me look at them like they were aliens who probably didnā€™t need sleep because how would you be able to stay awake all through the night and not feel tired at all?

Well I got my answer The coffee made me realize how stupid it was of me to place myself into a box and how I refused to embrace growth.

I discovered that under the right amount of pressure and spoons of coffee, I was capable of stretching and conforming into the best version of myself that could handle any given situation. This equipped me with all the more reason to respect myself and others.

That period came and left and I developed a spirit of gratitude towards coffee.


Thanks for reading and Happy International Coffee day in arrears to you fellow coffee lover.šŸ™‚šŸ™‚

All Images used are property of yours truly

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency