The Secret of the Coffee Lady

Image edited by me in Canva with their free supplies.



One day I was walking through my neighborhood and a little ways down the street from my house I saw some neighbors having a garage sale, so I went over to see what items they were selling. The neighbors who lived in that particular house were quite elderly, so they had many interesting antiques, there was one in particular that caught my eye. A medium sized painting of a young woman gracefully drinking coffee, the painting had an interesting vibe and was very well detailed, plus, I loved coffee so that was a bonus point for the painting. I didn't have to think much to make the decision to buy it, I know it would look great in my living room which is near the kitchen so I proceeded to take out the money that the painting cost and bought it. The neighbors when I was leaving told me that they had inherited the painting but they didn't know who exactly it was from or how it came to them, how interesting.

Already at home, I dedicated myself to mount the painting with great care in order to not ruin it. After hanging it I took some time to appreciate it better and while I was doing it I noticed that in the lower right corner the painting looked a little more prominent than normal and also a little bumpy. I approached and touched the place, it felt like there was something quite thin inside, I didn't want to damage the painting but I had to open it to see if there was really something inside it. When I opened it I found a letter that looked a little old, without hesitation I proceeded to read it.



"If anyone finds this letter, by the time you read it I'm sure it's been quite a few years and possibly I'm no longer in this world, but this I will leave written is not something I want the whole world to know, but I need to get it out somehow, so it's okay.

The woman in the painting where you found this letter is me, Greta Karmin. This painting was given to me by Leonard Yernan in the year 1989, a man whose life I confess to having unintentionally ended in a desperate attempt to defend me and my family's coffee legacy. You see, you must know that Leonard constantly professed his love for me and as a proof of this he painted that portrait of me one afternoon when I agreed to have coffee with him, but not just any coffee, it was a coffee with a special flavor elaborated by my family years ago. Leonard was not only always looking for a way to let me know his supposed romantic interest in me all the time, but he also insinuated a great interest in my family's coffee business and was always looking for me to somehow tell him the secret of its special flavor, which I never did, as I quickly realized his intentions.

But Leonard was intense, he did not give up easily in the face of my indifference and kept trying to charm me to get information. I quickly realized that he wasn't really in love with me, he just wanted to use me to steal my family's coffee recipe and because of my constant rejections he started to become hostile until he got out of control.

One day he went to the storage room of my house where my family and I kept the coffee beans we produced and messed up the whole place trying to find the recipe, something he was not going to accomplish, because it has never been written down, we all kept it in our memory. Leonard felt frustrated at not being able to find the recipe so he tried to steal a sack full of our beans, at that moment my father came in and a fight started. Leonard began to attack my father and the latter did not hesitate to defend himself, but the age difference and fatigue played against him. Thank God at that moment I came in, seeing my dear father on the ground all hurt and Leonard on the verge of taking his life, I quickly knocked down a pile of stacked sacks full of coffee beans on top of Leonard, an act that left him lifeless.

As I mentioned before, my intention was not to take Leonard's life, I just wanted to defend my family and stop his madness. Taking someone's life is not something easy, it is not something that feels good, but I stand my ground and I would do it again to defend my family and what I love. You who read me, understand me, don't judge me, my hands are dirty, but my honor is intact.

Finally, I do not know in what time this letter will be found, so I don't know if the coffee legacy of my family is still in force, I did not have children, but my brothers did, I don't know if they continued the legacy. If there is a coffee with the name "Karmin Gourmet" then the legacy of my family continues, if not, to you who read me, I leave the recipe of my family's special coffee, I hope you are a good person and put it to good use. Please save this letter once again, because in the end what happened always remained a secret and that is how it should remain, thank you."

I was surprised, I didn't expect this kind of intense story, but well, now I knew a new coffee recipe and don't worry greta, your secret is safe with me.



Thanks for reading me 🌻



┌───── •ˋˏ ༻✿༺ ˎˊ• ─────┐
All the images in the publication are
of my authorship. Header, banners and
separator created by me in Canva with their
free supplies.
└────── •✿• ──────┘


💟

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency