It's just a coffee stain ☕✨



In my country -as in many others- there is a tradition of using underwear of a particular color to welcome the New Year in order to augur good things for the year to come, each color represents something different, for example, it is recommended to use yellow if you want to manifest money, red to call love, green for hope and abundance, white for peace and so on with all the colors, it is a very popular cabala.

In my family we are people of traditions, not all the time I must say, but we keep most of them, especially in December, so we bought our respective underwear to receive the year manifesting what we wanted with optimism. This time, I decided to buy a white underwear to manifest peace and calm, because for me to feel peace is one of the best things in life, it is a sacred state of mind, a lifestyle, I believe it is one of the best things you can wish for yourself.

New Year's Eve arrived, we were all in the living room enjoying our company while talking about whatever, when my mother asked me if I wanted a cup of coffee, to which I replied yes, just a little, I mean, why not?, I don't drink wine or punch, just soda which was one of the things that was around, so a cup of coffee would be nice for a change and it combined with one of the desserts we had, which was the classic chocolate panettone.

My mom started to prepare the coffee and when it was ready she very kindly brought it to the table, which is where I was sitting, I thanked her and started to drink the coffee while I simultaneously ate the panettone, which if you ask me, was delicious. I was very calm when suddenly I spilled some coffee on the table, so I decided to stand up to get a napkin to clean it, but when I got up for some reason I did it very fast and with the cup of coffee in my hand which caused me to spill coffee on my dress that was made of very light fabric and consequently it went through it, staining my white underwear that I wore especially to manifest peace.

My superstitious side got a little upset, I didn't care at all that the dress had been stained, my attention was totally focused on my white underwear. I started to wonder things like "will it bring bad luck if something happens to your underwear on New Year's?, will it mean that I won't have peace next year?", thinking those things made me feel a little sad, but I still kept my composure and went to clean my dress and underwear in the bathroom.

As I was cleaning my underwear I realized that the coffee stain wasn't really that big, I stopped for a moment and thought, what's wrong with me? I mean, It's good to have certain practices and traditions, it's good to believe in objects that bring luck, but that's not everything, just because an underwear has been stained doesn't mean that I will have bad luck and much less that I won't have peace, having peace largely depends on me and my attitude towards life, not on an underwear, we ourselves are the creators of our life, it is in our hands to make an effort to improve it, if I want peace, I will have peace because I will take care of getting it myself.

With those thoughts my mood changed completely, I felt better, much more cheerful and when I finished cleaning my clothes, I went back to the living room to continue sharing with my family. Having those reflective thoughts in the bathroom made me feel empowered, they made me feel the peace I wanted to feel next year, making me see that I was right, having peace depended mostly on me, although, at the same time I laughed to myself, maybe the white underwear had worked after all.

The new year began with me celebrating with my family and feeling confident that everything would be fine thanks to the reflections I had from staining my underwear with a simple cup of coffee. Without a doubt, sometimes the greatest lessons come from very small situations and this situation left me with a great lesson that I know will make this new year full of the longed-for peace that I desire so much.





Thanks for reading me 🌻



This story is written in first person, but is purely fictional. 🤭


┌───── •ˋˏ ༻✿༺ ˎˊ• ─────┐
All the images in the publication are
of my authorship. Header, banners and
separator created by me in Canva with their
free supplies.
└────── •✿• ──────┘


💟


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency