The Dead Coffee Bean!

Mr. Reynolds has been a patient in our ward for years. Terminal cancer and our consultants had called his time to be over about 4 years back, and yet somehow, he lives on. There was no medical explanation and I have seen him in the wards since I had joined 6 months ago.

He was a creepy old man who liked dark jokes. Most people avoided any him if at all possible. But the old man was a coffee freak and I got along quite well with him, I think solely for this reason. The man knew more about coffee than the entire internet could teach me. his secret techniques of brewing reminded me of the potions book in the Half Blood Prince!

Whenever I asked how he knows so much, he always said, "Doc, I am a coffee bean. Of course I know more about coffee than humans can ever understand." Textbook delusional!

One day during follow up, he said - "Doc, my time is up." I was a bit taken aback and paused to think of a response. "...there's nothing to feel sorry about. Just help me with one last thing will you?"

"..errm, sure."

"Go for a tick or treat this Halloween, will you?"

His eyes were glittering with so much enthusiasm and full of life like I have never seen in him. A mad request from a mad man, I thought to myself. I'd look like a fool....an adult going around asking for a tick or treat, jeez! Creepily enough, he seemed to have read my mind, "You go for a tick or trick only down Boulevard 66. No one there cares if you're an adult or a kid." His eyes were gleaming now.

"Boulevard 66? Never heard of such a place."

"No one has!" He was sitting upright now! "I'll show you the map, I'll explain everything." He frantically started looking for something in his bag and muttered slowly to himself, "You'll find it doc. I know you will. I have not met a single coffee freak like you in all these years I've been lost."

"Did you say you've been lost?"

"Never you mind about that doc. Come here." And he opened up a piece of parchment. This looked very much like the map of our city but it had quite a few extra passages and buildings I never noticed. Must be a very old version....Mr. Reynolds was in fact a very old man. Maybe he still thinks his Boulevard 66 exists.

Reluctantly I agreed to go looking for a non existent boulevard 66 on Halloween eve.


As I took a left turn on Walker St. into the dark Alley I was starting to think this was a very bad idea. This was the sort of place where people get mugged....when suddenly a door flung open to my right with the sign "Boulevard 66" hanging over it - just like Mr. Reynolds had said. With my legs shaking I stepped forward. It was the spookiest narrow road I have ever walked. There was one single house in the deserted boulevard. Seemed 200 years old, at least. Those typical ghostly houses we used to see on "Adam's Family" you know!

15040957254_757f8a3b1d_b.jpg

Source

I knocked the door, and said in a very shaky voice, "Tick or treat.." and the door creaked open. As if someone was already waiting for me. An old woman with a pointed hat looked at me, almost as if trying to smell me...and then she stopped. Took out a packet of coffee and shoved it in my basket. Then looked up at me and smiled a sad smile and said in a hoarse voice, "Reynold's time has come hasn't it my dear?" A drop of tear trickled down her face as she slowly closed the door.

I looked up at the packet of coffee and it had engraved "Mr. Canephora Reynolds, 12th December, 1898 -31st October, 2022."

I jumped a little looking at today's date. This was all too spooky. I quickly turned around and walked away from Boulevard 66 as fast as I could. As soon as I reached Walker St. I took a taxi straight to the hospital and handed Mr. Reynolds the small packet of coffee. He looked at his name, smiled and handed it back to me. "It's my gift to you doc, for being a good friend." He smiled back caringly and said, "You've had a very spooky evening I can tell. Go home and enjoy this coffee. I assure you this will be the best coffee you've had in your life. When you finish drinking that coffee, I will die doc."

I have had enough weirdness for one day to argue with Mr reynolds. "Do you know doc, what happens to coffee beans when they die?" I stared back blankly.
"They become a coffee bean" and he smiled back at me with all the wisdom in his eye. His words made no sense.

"See you tomorrow Mr. reynolds."

As I walked out, I thought I heard him mutter, "No you won't doc."

I went back home and I did indeed need a very strong cup of coffee.

I emptied every last bean into the grinder from the packet and made a fine grind and made myself a creamy cup of Latte! And boy Mr. Reynolds was right. The aroma of this coffee was something like I had never tasted before....best coffee I've had without a doubt!


When I woke up in the morning and getting ready for work I saw a single coffee bean lying on my coffee table. My heart skipped a beat. I assured myself I must have spilled one last night when my phone rang.

progress_image_13_bea35b49-052c-4008-8ef2-7d5fea7b71b9.webp

Source

It was one of the nurses on the phone, "Mr. Reynolds has passed away doc. Wee need you to come in and write his death certificate."

I carefully put the bean in jar, I still don't know why I did that.


I invite @riz611 to participate

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency