A Day With Myself | My Entry to ICD Contest

Between comings and goings we spend our days jumping from one task to another and it is not uncommon that we forget about ourselves and the importance of dedicating time and taking care of ourselves.

And I'm not talking about our personal care or our health but to take time just for us, to listen to ourselves, to do something we like or simply disconnect from the tasks of everyday life.

img_0.04579979245827475.jpg

When we are children we dream of being adults and when that long awaited moment arrives we immediately regret our desire and who would want to leave a life of games, of attention, of few responsibilities, free of great worries being fully aware of what it really means to be adults. I believe that nobody or very few.

And that is because adult life is full of responsibilities and occupations. In fact, many times the list of daily tasks seems endless and there comes a point when we ask ourselves "When will I have a moment for myself?"

And I'm not even talking about an outing! I'm talking about the simple fact of being able to take a few minutes to sit down and listen to music, watch TV or just enjoy a delicious cup of coffee just in the company of ourselves.


img_0.37851517364118104.jpg


Don't get me wrong! I love my family and the time I spend with them but many times the day to day can be so hectic that I feel like I don't even have time to breathe.

In my particular case I am a mom of two children. A nine year old girl and a twelve-year-old boy. Both of them are of school age, of course, besides participating in different extracurricular activities, so my days are quite busy during school time, so during these vacation days, which are about to end, every time I could I took some time for myself.

A time to do NOTHING, to lie down to think and just rest, something like a date with me. And that special moment came when my husband would go to visit his mother with the kids and ask "Do you want to come over?"

You already know the answer!

"No love, thank you " hahaha. And that would become my special moment. An afternoon with me. And what better way to do it than in the company of a delicious cup of coffee?

So I prepared everything I needed to enjoy my time alone and the first thing on my list for that occasion is to prepare a good cup of coffee with milk and cookies.


img_0.863267650842896.jpg


As I told you once before, coffee with milk is my favorite way of consuming coffee and I always try to make it the way my grandmother used to prepare it and although it doesn't look the same as time goes by, it looks more and more like it every day.

Recently I had the opportunity to spend a few hours alone so as soon as my husband and the children left I started my ritual, but this time I decided to give a different touch to my latte by adding a little vanilla which turned out fabulous!

My grandmother used to prepare coffee with milk in the traditional way but what made the difference was the pinch of salt she added, so I followed all that procedure to the letter, only at the end I added a few drops of vanilla, I opened a package of cookies and it was almost ready for my date with me hahaha.


img_0.8022921836922664.jpg


I took some pictures for you and then I started to watch my favorite channel ID (Investigation Discovery) with my cup of coffee as my only company and I can tell you that those moments are unique, and although I love the noise of my children in the house and see them fluttering around me, I also really enjoy those little moments with myself.

I think we all need a time to disconnect, a time when we don't worry about cleaning, dinner, school and the multiple occupations of everyday life, but enjoy the best company, that is, our own! And just as we cultivate the relationship with others we must also cultivate the relationship with ourselves because after all we spend our whole life together!


img_0.48881318826123593.jpg


Have you had an evening with yourself lately?

If the answer is no, make an appointment right away and have a few hours just for you and coffe, the best companion in the world!

Happy International Coffee Day. Kisses and blessings!


img_0.17252056337475158.jpg


img_0.731116121583772.jpg

Fotografía por:| Photography by:
@rlathulerie, Redmi 9 AI QUAD


Edición por:| Edtion by:
@rlathulerie on Canva


Traducido con:| Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency