Rust, Brighton: Rustic, Wholesome, Delicious Goodness! [plus a very cool old object]

I swear catching up with people is getting expensive. Every time we meet up with another set of friends we just have to go out somewhere to eat. Why can't they make us lunch, I wonder? But, we hand over our pounds and try to focus on the loveliness of the food and company instead of the drain on our wallets. This lunch was at Rust in Brighton, a lovely cafe with lunches this little Australian approved of!

image.png

The decor was very tasteful - raw bricks, timber, and lovely features such as the downlights and the gorgeous metal till. We were served by a cute waiter in his mid 20's with a moustache and a mullet, which seems to be on trend these days.

The menu was fantastic. It was really, really hard to choose. My friend David had the poke bowl (a healthy salad) and Daniella had the vegetarian breakfast, which was huge and had halloumi, house made baked beans, spinach, toast, tomatoes and a fried field mushroom. I kinda wish I'd ordered that but there's only so many fry ups one should eat in a week!

Instead, I had the scrambled tofu. I saw the person next to me (we ended up sharing a big table with strangers) had poached eggs with fetta, pico de gallo, and chilli sauce and fetta which also looked amazing. I also considered the dal soup with sourdough. It came to 11 pounds which was a bit more than I'd normally pay for brekky at home. It was pretty good and nice to have avocado for a change!

image.png

Jamie couldn't go past the fry up. Fry ups are SO much better here than in Australia - the bacon and sausage are just better quality than anything he's had at home. He was a very happy boy.

image.png

The coffee was okay too. I didnt like the oat milk much but still, it was pretty good. England has improved a lot on the coffee front and Brighton has a few small batch brewers which it didn't last time I was here.

I couldn't believe our old friend who went out for a fag. It's so uncommon for people to smoke these days that I'm always taken aback. She DId have a very cool tobacco tin though that was an old tin given by the Queen to the soldiers, Christmas 1914. If you're going to go old school and smoke, why not have a good tin hey?

image.png

If I was to come back to Brighton, I wouldn't hesitate to eat here again!

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency