A letter of forgiveness / STB writing prompt 34

At dawn father was not the same, he sighed a lot and hardly got up to fulfil the routine of the day, he reluctantly refused to feed the pig, he sent me instead to go and feed the pig, however, this was not like father, who did not allow anyone to go and do a thing in the pigsty, he will do it alone because he was avoiding mistakes from me that I am still not a good pig farmer.

He let us know that he likes to live in the countryside, which is quiet and calm than a place full of noises and population, every time he bring this kind of expression mother would try her best to keep him calm.

Image source

We knew he didn't like life in the city, but what we didn't know was why he didn't like it all of a sudden, we went to the city for a reason, after the dangerous erosion in the form of earthquake knocked down the houses, we were left with nowhere to go and then my father rented a new house in the city, we lived in the city and everything was going so well, until that day father put his hands in a pocket and dropped something in the drawer.

His mood started to change and he didn't say anything good about the city other than we should go back to the rural area, I started to think tirelessly and I thought there was something I could do to make him like the city because i was thinking how we were going to live in a place destroyed by erosion.

My father suggested that we go back in a week, I disagreed and asked him and my mother to go back, because I was starting to live the life I dreamed of, with steady electricity, and good roads, and besides, I didn't want to lose my job, I was doing well at work and my colleague at work wouldn't like me to go back to the rural area either.

Image source

Father and mother leave, I take them to the bus stop, and they take a bus home, before going back to the house, I was very tired, I see in the drawer that father has forgotten his necklace and next to the necklace, is where I see a letter in a white envelope, written with emmense affection.

The letter was addressed by Joviana and I remember that once my father told me something about her, that in the old days, when men were men, he said he was the best guy in town, but something happened to him that since then he shut himself up and silenced himself from life, that he met with my mother, a lonely girl, who seems so quiet and loving, that with her he feels complete, a person who lives in a world just like him.

Then I opened the letter that speaks of forgiveness, pleading and pleading, for many years have passed, but still she wants him to know that she is very sorry for everything that happens in the past, she needs to see him and for him to say, "I have forgiven you, otherwise she won't go on living like this".

Image source

It was revealed to me that, my grandfather worked for a rich man in a coffee plantation, the rich man had a daughter, the same age as my father, my father was a handsome boy as at that age, the rich man was a rude kind of person, so on that day, in anger he pushed my grandfather on the ground and he died, my father ran away from the coffee plantation because the rich man wanted to kill him too to close that chapter.

He managed his life on the street and became a farmer who raised pigs, met my mother at the market where he normally sold his produce, they fell in love and got married, so his life from a child to a teenager was in a rural place.

Joviana the rich man daughter were friends with my father, she sent a letter to him, asking for forgiveness for what her father did to my grandfather, my father did not want trouble, he went there with mother and forgive her, he was told that Sir Danelo, the owner of the coffee plantation also died a month after his own father died, since then the daughter controlled the coffee plantation, things in the plantation were not going as they should but from the moment father set foot there, the wonderful coffee plantation started to grow.

This is my entry in the STB Writing Prompt Week 34, I am using this medium to invite @dwixer and @teknon to join this initiative.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency