My 2021 coffee flat-lay collection (part 01)


19544DCE-CBC2-4531-9FE9-F64F4EA0DC4F.jpeg

I brew my coffee hot but I like to drink it at room temperature.
- @nikkabomb 2021

This is one fact about me that has never changed since I first enjoyed a cup of coffee. One reason is because I got used to taking photos of my brewed coffee first before consuming it. So by the time I’m ready to take a sip, it’s already at room temperature.

Since I have saved a few good photos in the past weeks, I might as well share them with you. I have noticed your appreciation on my previous flat-lay coffee shots telling me that they’re really artistic and unique. So for this blog, I am going to share some other decent shots that you may find inspiration from.


The peeping coffee


347FBB9C-3185-4524-AEBE-7CB184DFC5D4.jpeg

I don’t usually prepare sweet coffee but for weekends I got used to not drinking my usual black bitter coffee. I’ll reveal the story behind that this weekend so tune in.

This photo was taken using a mobile phone and was just edited on the editing tools in my phone’s gallery. I photographed it in such a way that the one viewing the photo seems to be peeping from a book shelf. Comment down below if that’s how it felt for you.

I really like the idea of an aromatic coffee in an old library. How about you?


Tic Tac Toe


BF14C292-24B6-40CC-8724-AB46E9A5BE18.jpeg

Coffee breaks for me is as short as playing tic tac toe and is my source of entertainment, too. Hence the inspiration.

This photo was taken using my DSLR camera and was just edited in Picsart. I took the photo with my 18-55mm kit lens. And since its aperture is not too wide, I wasn’t able to get a good blur of the background. So I edited it out thru Picsart.


Coffee is like music to me


C0390623-EA41-499C-A310-637896AE5914.jpeg

I used a battery-operated whisk on this black coffee creating the bubbles. I was supposed to make a dalgona coffee but I didn’t because I realized I ran out of milk. So I just froth my coffee a little for the photo. hehehe

I portrayed my coffee to be like music because just like how some music relaxes us, coffee gives me the same serenity! I know you’d agree. A cup of coffee before starting a busy day, sipping coffee on breaks, or enjoying it after a hectic day, it always does its magic just like how lullaby calms a baby to sleep.

This photo was taken using my mobile phone and there were no post processing done. Thanks to the natural good lighting in the morning coming from my bedroom window.


My favorite duo


AF8B6AEE-F59D-48FA-8630-93C95A31D277.jpeg

I can only name few favorites that can come to my mind in split seconds if asked. Coffee and books are two of the few that I was referring to. This is a bit obvious since I have been taking my coffee shots in a presence of a book(s).

This photo was also taken using my mobile phone and was edited using mobile lightroom app. I enhanced the lighting by adjusting the slide-bars for exposure and shadows. I also added some vignette to add more focus on the book and the coffee.

Guess what day of the week was this taken? Yeah, it’s the weekend! (Black coffee on weekdays and sweet coffee on weekends!)


The Original


8CEB46A1-3D06-48B3-AED4-FEADA3058E59.jpeg

Not using any props to accentuate the coffee gives more focus to it. Just like not adding any sugar and creamer brings out the realness of its aroma and taste!

This is my typical coffee!

I took this photo with the use of my DSLR and my 70-300mm kit lens. Just imagine how far I was from my coffee just to have this shot. Hahaha I wanted the challenge so I did what I did.


Spell it out!


2D7362E2-429A-42A0-A633-B630A97E4E40.jpeg

This is a ready mix black coffee because when this photo was taken I ran out of beans so I rushed to the nearest supermarket and bought some Nescafé black coffee powder. I saw this inspiration from pinterest one time so I just tried to imitate it. Don’t worry, those coffee powder were put to use because I consumed all of the powder on that same day!

This photo was taken using my mobile phone and edited using lightroom and picsart. I needed to enhance the white background so I used more than one editing app that I have in my phone. I didn’t do an amazing job at cleaning the background but it’s pretty decent. Isn’t it?


Lost in books


CF41D5CE-36FE-494B-B046-BD7524B84A7B.jpeg

This is my cover photo for my previous blog and I just decided to include it here since this blogpost is intended for my flat lay collection. I received compliments from this photo so I thought it would be nice to include it here in the hopes that many coffee enthusiasts would be inspired by these photos.

This one was taken using a mobile phone and was just added with a filter to make it look like more vintage. This photo proves that composition plays an important role and can be as good as having a good camera quality.


2021


44CA4F64-D9C3-47A7-AC4A-B6CDE90914A0.jpeg

This photo was taken last January to remarkably start the year. This was also taken using my mobile phone and was edited in picsart.

Just like the last photo (Lost in books), this one was also featured in one of my recent blogs and had to include it here since this is a compilation. I can’t leave this out since this is one of my favorite shots.


Author’s note

These are the top 8 flat-lay shots I have taken this year. I am sharing this with you to give inspiration and to show that the photos taken using a mobile phone don’t differ that much from photos taken using a DSLR. Surely DSLR cameras have many advantages but don’t be discouraged if you don’t have one yet! Just remember that a good eye for photography is the start to making good photos. So bring your coffee up and toast with me as we cherish each stir and celebrate each sip! To more coffee-venture! Cheers


Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and also a blogger. A workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot but I think I collect books even more. And there’s nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I really love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency