A Lidl Love On The Weekend

Hello Hive,

PSX_20210827_153533.jpg

I had a hankering for fresh tasty pastry, so I took a walk to my favourite supermarket in the world, Lidl.

My love for Lidl goes way back to when I was living in the Netherlands as a student. On a tight(er) budget than my American classmates and other international students, we would shop at the popular supermarkets that were in close proximity on our daily routes.
My sister and brother-in-law (in the UK) gave me the tip to look out for Aldi; which I found, and was thrilled with the big price cuts I could get for basically the same goods.
Happily shopping and watching my funds go further at Aldi, my flatmate Jonathan, a Dutch national saw me unpacking groceries and said, "Oh you like Aldi", and I quickly responded "oh yes!". He said, well if you like Aldi, I recommend that you shop at Lidl too. I asked him to spell it, as I couldn't quite get the phonetics of the word.

I took note of it, and on my next shopping errand, I anxiously mapped my route, and set off on my bike with my "fietstassen" (bicycle bags).

With my written directions, which took me on cycle routes through villages, I rode quite a distance wondering if I was lost.
Stopping and getting directions from some locals, I located, entered, and fell in love with Lidl right away.


According to Wiki, Lidl Supermarket is a German International discount retail chain that operates in over 12000 stores across Europe and the US.

For me, Lidl Supermarket is simply "Heaven".

Sticking to my "survival" essentials only shopping list, I'd browse the special aisles that had random goods of seasonal products, and wished I was able to purchase them.

I loved the unpredictable collection of what you might find, unless you were a dedicated Lidl watcher like myself who would eagerly browse the net and collect their booklet to see what to expect the coming week.


I then moved to the UK, and began working at a Chiropractic Clinic next door a Lidl supermarket. I was living the dream!

I used to say to my husband:

'I love Lidl so much, I'd stand in the rain with a banner, chanting I love Lidl'.

"Please don't," he'd always reply.


Then Lidl expanded.

My favourite supermarket chain now had a Bakery inside every store.

Fresh Pastries produced throughout the day, made from real butter.

PSX_20210826_223744.jpg

Coffee Shop Alternative

I love the experience of sitting in a coffee shop, as it's a cozy feeling with the strong aromas emitting in the air. However, sometimes you might not be so lucky to get the perfect seating or the music might be too loud; always something to ruin the atmosphere.

Also, some of the other cons of coffee shops are that products, pastries in particular might not be fresh, yet pricy, and the coffee might be of mediocre quality, yet you pay premium prices, or great quality but sizes too small.

I am thrifty and always looking for ways to live well for less, and Lidl is my one-stop shop!

Lidl Pastries

PSX_20210827_155151.jpg

  • fresh pastry baked daily, and replenished throughout the day
  • relatively healthy with unsalted nuts
  • tasty and not too sweet
  • wide selection, and you can mix and match
  • flexibility to take-away and reheat in my oven
  • Convenient for the current times of restrictions and health safety regulations.

My favourite pastry is the Maple Pecan Plait and the Plain Butter Croissant.
Any pastry with Chocolate is for my husband @scubahead, he loves chocolate.

PSX_20210827_155048.jpg


PSX_20210827_153749.jpg

So you see, with the available choices of freshly baked inexpensive pastry from Lidl supermarket, the pleasures of sitting on the stern deck of my narrowboat with canal views, is the viable option for me for my coffee breaks.
A Lidl Love On The Weekend, oh yay!

Black coffee with my Maple Pecan Plait, a delicious Danish pastry. The Italian blend of Arabica from Lidl, served in a large Badger mug: my personal coffeeshop ;)


Endless refills of coffee...

I could get used to this.

IMG_20210827_161204.JPG

PSX_20210827_154002.jpg

Cheers to the weekend, let's drink "a Lidl Coffee" to that!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency