The Coffee Shop Blog 29 -“ Malawi Gold “

Hey everyone I hope you are all well and caffeinated, since it has been sometime I do have a bunch of blogs for you . This one is about one of the coffees I got , this coffee is what we are now retailing at my store. We do not just have one kind but 4 different types of coffees that we retail .

CE9C39E6-4511-425F-8DD7-5DFBAD7064AB.jpeg

Now before putting the coffee on the menu it needs to go through a couple of tests . So the first one we tried was the Malawi Gold . I have tried Malawi coffee before and found it very interesting. This one though peaks my interests even more for its complex flavors. To train my palate for this I decided to do a V60 pour over to try this coffee out . The ratio I used was 1:16 for the pour over . What I was doing was going through different grinds trying to search for the flavors with in . I started on a lower grind and the grind and set it up . After taking the first sip , I got an imbalanced coffee where the acidity was abit to much and slight hints of toffee . I then decided to up the notch of the grind size and got a bold tasting coffee . But missing that slight sweetness. I knew where I have to work the grind size to and set it . I then prepared the V60 and got a smooth cup . I do not know what truffles taste like as it is really not served much here but I could get an idea of it from what I had experience in my sips and breaking down the flavors .

6E98812B-291A-4119-918B-EDF05FF2DFDB.jpeg

DAF56C4A-093E-4E4D-B72B-EC72BB0752BD.jpeg

DEFACB3A-58E4-4EA7-862E-8CC35D7B4464.jpeg

Espresso time now , This is a medium roast coffee compared to my medium to dark full city blend so I know I had to set the grind size abit finer . Pour the espresso was so beautiful as the golden coffee gushed out the portiifiler . The flavors are very complex for my pallet but it is a cup that is very new and interest. Each sip had me wanting to try agains and again to break down the flavors in the cappuccino. My ideal cappuccino i got was wholesome , and something I feel what was missing from my coffee menu which was complex flavor which would allow people to enjoy and try break it down . The cappuccino was very smooth .

8BF02F9D-CDDC-44DF-B75C-44966B2AC0E6.jpeg

I understand my palate is a bit rudimentary and have taken on a journey to help me with that which is why I took on certain tasting such as wine tasting which is pretty much I found easy discovering the flavor in it . I had bought a pinotage red wine which had very distinctive flavor , I started with reading the bottle and it’s describing flavors which I tasted on different part of my tongue such as the dried banana at the back of my tongue and the cherry/ grape in the front of my tongue is was very interesting and thought it was to be a good way to train my palates . And it aswell gives me an advantage to drink more wine which I do pretty much enjoy . The next bottle I am getting is a port kwv, dessert wine which I’m pretty much interested in breaking down the flavors .

The next coffee I got which is a special blend the complexity of this coffee is was harder then the Malawi Gold so I look forward to trying it out and I’ll be sure to tell you about the experience and what flavors I get out of it ...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency