The painting, the coffee, the unforgettable experience… Did this actually happen?

Peaceful weekend walks are something that I really cannot compare to anything else. Living in this part of the city, away from the busy downtown make your life happier and full of pleasant emotions. Last week I had the ability to visit a yard sale. The new neighbors surely do bring a lot of stuff when they moved out of Ethiopia and they were ridding off the unnecessary possessions. I have to say, that they are one of the most pleasant neighbors, always smiling at you and offering some home made treats to the people coming at their house.

In the yard sale there could be found various objects which involve coffee in some form. And what I found most intriguing was one painting. It was drawn with coffee and presented a woman, which looked as she was keeping a secret… I wondered what she could tell me. The best decision was to buy this piece of art and bring it home quickly.


Source: https://in.pinterest.com/pin/476677941781942846/

Opening the plastic foil that was protecting the painting from the atmospheric conditions immediately released a sweet coffee aroma that filled the air of the room. I wondered… who could have painted this… and how was the coffee aroma so well preserved?

I searched all the back side of the sheet and really could not see any initials at all. But… on one of the sides a little corner of paper was sticking out. I tried to carefully pull it out, which ended with a success! It was a letter… a letter that seemed like at least couple of centuries old. It was written in a beautiful handwriting.

Hello, dear time traveller! How are you? Take a look around…

I lifted my sight… the room wasn’t there… it was a harbor and the year was like 14th it 15th century… I continued reading.

It feels surreal, right? You are actually witnessing the first coffee being imported from Ethiopia to Yemen. This is the exact moment when world becomes open for coffee. I bet by the time you will read this, all the world is gonna be different, maybe you enjoy tasty coffee every day? If you possess this painting, you surely like coffee a lot. I’ll give you a week! You can experience the coffee trades, then reach back Ethiopia to see all the plantations. And don’t worry! When you come back to your time, it’s gonna be at the same exact moment, when you left.

When you arrive back in Ethiopia I’ll wait for you and I will take care of your stay. Be welcome!

I couldn’t believe my eyes… I could not believe that this was actually happening. I didn’t know what to do… but… if I have only one week here and now, I’ll better go around and enjoy my time. It’s a pity that I don’t have my phone in my pocket right now… nobody will believe me. Hopefully no one will think that I’ve lost my mind, but these are the facts.

See you soon with further posts of my visit in the past.
Bye!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency