Saturday, Saturday… I’ve tried using a new tool for my espresso and a little mess occurred.

It’s Saturday! It’s time to enjoy a cup of coffee peacefully, if the kids allow me to do so… it’s been another week of waiting for the new family member, but the little girl hasn’t appeared yet. I guess because it’s the month of March and it’s known to be the female month here in Bulgaria (the weather changes the same way as the women’s mood does) the baby girl also acts similarly. It’s a little bit nerve racking, but eventually, maybe in the following days she will decide to come to the big world… who really knows?

This week I have the pleasure to enjoy a coffee from Panama. The farm of its origin is La Gloria Estate and it’s great how easily traceable specialty coffee is. A quick search in the internet led me to a lot of information about the farm, the people behind it and the history of this estate.

https://www.interamericancoffee.com/panama-la-gloria-estate/

It’s said that this farm produces mainly Typica, Caturra, Catui and just a tiny bit of Geisha variety beans - about 1%. The beans in my coffee bag are mixed - Catui and Caturra and the taste is expected to be quite fruitful with a touch of toffee. This is relatively new coffee that is available in the Dabov specialty coffee shop and it’s my very first time to grab a bag of these beans.

This morning was dedicated for espresso brewing and a day or two ago I found a new tool that was included in my grinder’s box. I’ve known that it had such a tool, but never used it before. It’s main use is to distribute the ground coffee in the portafilter before brewing. But… it creates a lot of mess.

And given the fact that it’s very doubtful how effective it this is, I’m probably just skip using it and stick to my regular distribution methods. I really have to clean around the zone of preparation every time I have a shot of coffee, which is a bit irritating.

The coffee profile is quite nice and flavorful. It tastes great brewed both in filter and espresso. Some coffee varieties cannot reveal its full potential when brewed in filter, but this one is sweet and fruity. Espresso just boosts and adds strength to the overall profile. The result is impressive and I can stick to only this coffee before complaining much. I won’t do that, but if I had to, there won’t be a lot of complaints.

Earlier in the week I and my wife managed to escape during my lunch break and visited the Specialty place. We needed some air and diversity, especially my wife. She tries to stay at home and not move that much. We need another week in order to be completely calm and secure that there won’t be any problems when the baby is born. Being the third pregnancy it means that the birth process should be quicker, but again… who really knows for sure?

This coffee shop offers some good vibes every time we visit it. We also enjoyed a piece of a cheesecake like dessert. I admire every treat that the girl from the coffee shop makes. She is a real wizard when creating these perfectly tasting and well balanced coffee mates. And the variety is also vast. Every time we have the chance to try something different.

Well, this will mark the end of my post. I hope you like it! Have your fingers crossed about the baby girl and see you soon with another update.

Have a nice weekend and stay positive! A cup of coffee always helps.

Bye!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency