Coffee - Story of a passion, happiness and a lifestyle. Happy international coffee day!and passion.

It may be a couple a days after the international coffee say, but this is my post about the greatest passion (besides my family, wife and kids) of my life.

It all begun in my high school, a time when I didn’t get enough sleep and in school I was always sleepy. Then I decided to try consuming these 3 in 1 mixes - Nescafé, sugar and creamer. Now I think this is really a bad mess and terribly tasting, but it was a good start and and introduction for my younger self in the world of coffee.

Back at that time I didn’t find coffee consumption as something unique and pleasure bringing. It was just a way to gain some awareness and energy. Little by little I started making some coffee in an old, but relatively good espresso machine in my home back in the time. Although my parents didn’t buy cheap coffee at all, it was not pleasurable yet, not at the extent that will make me dive that deep in the beautiful world of coffee.

I remember once, maybe about 6-7 years ago, that I watched a tv show with a famous chef in Bulgaria. He was telling his story and his experience with working and living in Japan and he had his special apparatus and hand grinder in the studio with him. He also shared the fact that most of the world’s finest coffee is being imported in Japan every year. At this period I was visiting constantly Japan and managed to order and buy the same exact setup - the Hario Sketron hand coffee grinder and the Hario Syphon - you remember that special apparatus that looks like a glass from the chemistry class? And this was a setup that almost no one in Bulgaria had ever seen!

This was exactly the time that I started to search for a more special coffee in Bulgaria and because Dabov was the only one who was importing specialty coffee in Bulgaria before 6-7 years ago, his online store was the only place that was supplying the precious beans. I even bought my first specialty coffee before I received my Hario syphon.

The excitement was great but I really was just touching to the world of high quality coffee. Of course, this package was very small, maybe 50 or 200 grams and I started searching this special coffee in the Japanese stores too. I found some in the Kaldi shops, which are quite famous in Japan. There were maybe about 20 different coffees available and although I wasn’t able to read Japanese, I bought a lot of different coffees, relying on the appearance only.

From this time till nowadays I still gain knowledge and expend my coffee gear. I feel that I’m diving in really deep waters now and still the world of coffee feels even deeper. Now I have a decent espresso set (for home brewing) and the perfectly simple but refined V60 filter setup. Of course I still have the Syphon, but don’t use that much. This is just perfectly enough for me, but I’m constantly searching and refining my brewing methods more and more.

Specialty coffee by Dabov has become the greatest part and pleasure bringing moment in my daily schedule and I really cannot imagine starting my day without a cup of beautiful specialty coffee. I’m happy that this person continues, after more that 10 years to deliver the finest beans from all around the world.

If it wasn’t this coffee, I probably wouldn’t have be so deep into the coffee culture. Of course, I have a lot of further plans to achieve even better tasting coffee shots, but everything with its time. Sometimes if you start moving too fast, you can miss some specific details. But one thing is sure - I will continue my coffee story with happiness with great passion!

Wish you a lovely day.
Bye!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency