Coffee and Treats in France

This coffee post will give you a hint of where my sister and I went next during her visit to France. She still had a few days left to spend with us in the country so there was still a lot for us to do and a fair amount for her to see.

20220716_124049~2.jpg

The first cafe that we stopped at was during our travel day coming home from Chamonix-Mont-Blanc. It was in the city of Beaune in Burgundy France. We stopped there for a coffee to break up the long eight hour drive.

20220716_124059~2.jpg

The little Cafe that was busy with people eating lunch but we didn't stay too long, just enough to charge a bit before heading out again, back on the open road.

20220716_123100~2.jpg

While in town we stopped for ice cream at a place that specialized in colorful macrons. The shop was called Fabrice Gillot as you can see from the packaging. They sold more than just macrons but the little cookies are just so very French, so it was something that my sister had to try during her vacation.

20220716_195756~2.jpg

We got two boxes of assorted flavors, one for my sister and one for my wife who couldn't make the trip with us. It was a small gift to bring back to her. I didn't get any for myself this time around. I don't think that I tried any either so I can't comment on whether or not they were any good. My wife said that they were good but not as good as Laduree. That's not surprising though really. I couldn't tell you what the flavors were even though I picked them out. It was fun selecting them and they did look pretty.

20220716_195740~2.jpg

The next place that we went was to the city of Rouen. We stopped at a cafe there, this time with my wife as well. It was in the morning when we first arrived.

20220717_111133~2.jpg

That cafe was called Antico Cafe.

20220717_111143~2.jpg

They both got cappuccinos and I got a cafe cream... I think. I don't actually know. It looks like it could be anything based on the photo. We all got croissants though, because that's what you do in France. You eat croissants and any sort of pastry, because they are delicious.

20220717_104425~2.jpg

I miss the croissants and baked good there. We found some okay ones in Canada but they aren't the same. Not really even close. They aren't as flakey and are slightly more...bready, maybe. I remember eating one dessert one time and saying, "I think this is supposed to be a choux pastry?"

20220717_104657~2.jpg

I think it's the quality of butter there that makes everything better, at least for the croissants. French butter is of a much better quality. A few years ago there was a butter scandal in Canada when it was discovered that butter was being cut with palm oil...!?! When I learned of that I was like... "yeah that's not surprising." Nothing surprises you when you're a jaded cynic though.

20220717_104709~2.jpg

My sister didn't like all of the cocoa powder on top of her coffee that day. She said it was messy and just gets all over your lips and face. She did have a point there.

20220717_104448~2.jpg

The coffee looks so good though, am I right? It's all about the presentation.

20220717_103940~2.jpg

What are these two looking at? The colorful half timbers? Whats over there?

20220717_103907~2.jpg

Just someone looking out the window of their Airbnb. Thats a cool spot to stay in the city I bet. Right in the heart of the old town with a great view of the church and the small square with the cafe near by. What more could you ask for?

20220717_103859~2.jpg

Well thats it for my stream of consciousness talk about coffee and treats. If you are interested in seeing more of our trip then stay tuned, there's more to come. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency