The Art of Love


Photo Source

It’s another weekend in the summer of July. Melissa and I were invited over to Mr and Mrs Patterson’s house along with some neighbours within our estate for another one of their monthly yard sales that happens every last week of the month.
Mr Patterson is a retired arts collector with several intriguing collections ranging from artifacts, art pieces made by renowned artist of old and a couple of beautifully made vases from the Ming dynasty which he inherited from his father. The paintings boasts of such beauty and deep emotional connection that makes your mind go wild as you attempt to contemplate the exquisiteness of the artist brush, whose depiction of aesthetics goes beyond our realm of understanding.

As we stood at Mr Patterson’s yard, admiring the different pieces of art before us, Mrs Jones our third door neighbor picked up a painting of a sunset with a man and his dog looking upwards into the sky as though they were carefully watching the sun retreat from its office.

“Wow, that’s a beautiful piece of art”. I said to Melissa.

“A true masterpiece indeed”. She added.

While I stood there praying that Mrs Jones would make the mistake of putting back the painting so I could dash for it, something else caught my eyes. It was the painting of a beautiful woman, full of elegance and adorned with the most exotic jewelry. From the look in her eyes, her full red lips and the slightly opened mouth waiting to welcome the cup of coffee she held, and down to the petals on her beautiful attire which bore the semblance of royalty, gave her a truly dignified look in her pose.
I quickly rushed over and pulled it up before any other eyes could sight it. I held it towards Mr Patterson’s direction in order to catch his attention.

“Oh, great choice Mr Williams. I must say, you have a great eye for art”. He said as he approached me with a witty smile.

Moments later, Mr Patterson and I settled on a price which I accepted without any complaints. I beckoned on my wife who was very much immersed in a sculpture of a cat and and a rat resting on what looked like a merry-go-round depicting a never ending chase between the former and the latter.

“You go on honey. I will be back home shortly.”

She said without taking her eyes of the sculpture.
I rushed back to our house which is roughly a hundred and fifty meters away from the Patterson’s.

“I know exactly where you belong.” I smiled happily as I held the painting with great care.
I walked into the living room and hung the painting on the wall five feet above my wife’s aquarium which she ordered online a few months back after much talk about wanting one.
As I stood there dazzled by the intricacy of the artist’s in-depth capture of the scenery behind this masterpiece, I noticed something quiet unusual. The far side corner of the painting appeared to be a bit out of shape compared to the rest of the body. When I carefully examined the area, a piece of old looking well folded piece of paper fell out the back of the canvas.
Upon unfolding the paper, I noticed it contained a handwritten note which was still clearly visible but with old ink which left me with the idea that the paper must have been hidden there almost the same time as the painting was made.

“My dear Rose”. I began to read the letter.

“If words alone is the style upon which I capture my love and deep desire for you, then I have truly not loved you yet. Before you was a world, empty and void. The colors I saw are those my brushes created with each stroke across the canvas that received the expression of the world I see within me every time I close my eyes.
If ever there was a man to be deemed unworthy of such a woman, then I am the one by which all men should name.
The emptiness within me was like a river without the joy of life, deprived of all living things, and useless to any man who sought to make a living out of it. Like an empty treasure chest promising riches but never fulfilling, it is folly to sail daily on such a river.
You filled my heart with love and rescued me from the pain of loneliness. In you alone have I found the true meaning of love. Not even my greatest work can stand to contend with you in a contest of beauties. The words my mouth cannot utter, I put the trust upon my action to shew that to you. But for now, let the strokes of my brush in this painting of you, represent my never ending commitment to you. It captures the best moment that will always remain the most treasured day of my life, the day I saw you sipping that cup of coffee outside your cafe.
Your smile ushered me closer as I stood before you, transfixed at the gem before my eyes. A beauty crafted by the creator, and greatly beyond any man’s replication.
My darling Rose, let this painting remind you of my eternal love for you and let your heart warm up with smiles every time you gaze at it”.

I stood there for a while as I admired it. The sheer passion that went into this piece of art, the level of detail in it and the resultant effect of the colours introduced into it, gave it an alluring feeling that drew me into an overwhelming love for it. It was an embodiment of a man truly in love with a woman who seemed to have ushered in a new kind of beauty into his life, one that ultimately brought out the best in him.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency