Bitter Revenge/ Short story



SOURCE



"Way down among Brazilians
Coffee beans grow by the billions
So they've got to find those extra cups to fill
They've got an awful lot of coffee in Brazil".

I'm beginning to love this tasty song, almost as tasty as my bitter coffee, just the way I like it, without any sugar. And just as old Frank doesn't lose his charm no matter how much time passes, so I don't lose my inescapable affection for coffee.
Especially on Sundays, I don't know; maybe it's a rant, but coffee for me tastes better on Sunday mornings.

"You can't get cherry soda
'Cause they've got to fill that quota
And the way things are I'll bet they never will
They've got a zillion tons of coffee in Brazil."

I think these things as the toe of my right foot taps out the rhythm of the song playing at a significant volume in the next room, I also wonder what intention my brother would have in wanting to deprive me of my bitter Sunday nectar, what would he gain by hiding my coffee. I suppose to drive me crazy as part of his twisted pranks.

"No tea or tomato juice
You'll see no potato juice
The planters down in Santos all say no no no no."

I can quietly understand that my brother is strange, unreliable and of poor taste, in short that he doesn't like coffee. But it is intolerable that his ludicrous sense of humor affects something so important to me and of course I was not going to stand idly by, much less if it was already Sunday.

"The politician's daughter
Was accused of drinking water
And was fined a great big fifty dollar bill
They've got an awful lot of coffee in Brazil".

Yes sir, just like the politician's daughter, my brother also had to pay the bill. You know you don't learn from your mistakes if you don't pay for them. I as an older brother found myself in the duty (and pleasure) of giving a valuable lesson to my brother, just to help him learn the things of life. I don't know if it's just me but Frankie's song is really good.

"You date a girl and find out later
She smells just like a percolator
Her perfume was made right on the grill
Why they could percolate the ocean in Brazil".

I'm almost done with my cup of coffee, my foot is still tapping out the beat, I start humming the catchy rhythm as I get up and go to see how my brother is doing with his lesson, I open the door and there he is just as I left him; well bundled up and attentive to old Frank's musical advice, his wide eyes seem to want to say what his covered mouth can't. I don't know I think one night of hearing this song will do for now, but what the heck..... Let it play one more time. In the meantime, I'm left wondering if that will be true in Brazil.

"So your lead to the local color
Serving coffee with a cruller
Dunking doesn't take a lot of skill
They've got an awful lot of coffee in Brazil".

THE END


SOURCE


Hi there, this is original content by @joalheal , just for this contest in #cinnamoncupcoffe and the #spillthebeans.

My endcard is a Canva desing.
Translation by DeepL free version.

I used the lyrics of "The coffee song" written by Bob Hilliard and Dick Miles, first recorded by Frank Sinatra in 1946. If you want to know more, you can find info here

About the banner I want to thanks to Pexel in Pixabay





H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency