My Peace For Yours

Watching the stars, I giggled in delight. What kind of stars were the colour and shape of coffee beans anyways? Oh well....better coffee than anything. Then, i veered off and saw a regular star, so small it was almost invisible. But suddenly, it started eating up the coffee bean stars. It growed bigger and brighter till it turned into a blinding ball of white light. I heard laughter, an eerily familiar laughter as the light closed in on me.

I woke up with a shriek, covering my eyes from the light coming from the opened curtains. Morning already. This wasn’t my first time dreaming about coffee. I feel drinking so much coffee had seeped into my brain so I dreamt of it as many times as I drank it, which was a lot.


Source

Anyways, time to start my day. Which usually meant drinking two cups of my special mocha mix, or my vanilla scented chai latte mix. I skipped downstairs to the kitchen, humming a tune. I opened the kitchen cabinet where I kept all my coffee supplies and gasped, blinking like thrice a second to ensure I was seeing correctly. My special mocha mix, as well as my chai latte mix were nowhere to be seen.
I paused and started racking my head. Could I have kept it somewhere else, I shook my head inwardly. I was usually a very careful person, and I knew my mental well-being depended on my daily dose of caffeine so there’s no way I could’ve been careless with it. Which only left one option- someone had hidden it!!

But who?
Who would be that mean?

I thought of my parents who constantly said I depended too much on coffee, and I should give it a rest sometimes. Yeah, they could have done this great evil but I knew them. They weren’t usually impulsive people, and knew better to mess with my stuff.
Without prompting, my thoughts suddenly wafted to the dream I’d had this morning. And to the familiar mocking laugh I’d heard just before I woke up. As if a lightbulb switched on in my head, I gasped.

Macey.

How could I not have recognized the evil laugh of my twin. Call me superstitious, but no way was I ignoring this particular dream. It was definitely her. Macey and I usually played pranks on each other but we knew each other’s boundaries. There are some lines we just didn’t cross. And Macey knew how much I revered my coffee. So crossing that line meant war. And so I started thinking of ways to make her pay.

It was a little bit challenging though. I needed to find what was as important to Macey as my coffee was to me. She adored her music records, but she had copies of them everywhere, phone and all. So it had to be something she couldn’t do without. As I was thinking, Macey glided into the room. Oh speak of the devil.

She had that 'Cat who got the cream' expression on, and I couldn’t wait to wipe the smirk off. I wasn’t going to confront her. She was going to come to me. Macey took a cookie from the cookie jar, bit into it still smirking at me, and glided back out, her fluff ball keychain winking at me.....

I gasped, my eyes bulging, and then broke into a smile so hard, my cheeks nearly split. That was it. The fluff ball. Macey never went anywhere without it(except the bathroom). She was kind of an over thinker, so she had the habit of squeezing it in her palm anytime she felt anxious, and she’d instantly feel calm.
It was a done deal. She took away my peace, and I was going to take away hers. I slipped into my room waiting to hear the showers of water from the bathroom next door to show she was taking her bath. Couple hours later, I heard her singing in the bathroom. I tiptoed into her room and searched for the annoying ball. I found it on top of the dresser and smiled. Snatching it, I tiptoed back into my room, hiding the fluff ball strategically under my pillow, plopped my earbuds in my ear, and sprawled on the bed with a happy sigh. Waiting for the inevitable.

I didn’t wake long. I felt someone tapping me. I opened my eye where I’d dozed off to see a tear streaked face. "I know you took my fluff ball." She sobbed "I've put your coffee mixes back, so please give it back."
“Aha! I knew it was you.” I shouted triumphantly.
She proceeded to put the mixes back. And as an extra punishment, I made her wait while I prepared and drank my chai latte, feeling my insides return slowly to normal. I then directed her to wear her fluff ball was located.

She cuddled it like a baby. That ought to teach her, I mused. Never scurry with my coffee.

Hah!😂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency