87 Coffee: Combining English and Chinese Food On My Table

21st February 2024

Last Sunday's weather was pleasant, so I was able to take stroll around a town. My friend had to attend to an urgent matter, so we decided to postpone our initial plan to meet, and visit a cycling area, or hike a mountain together. I was therefore left alone once again. However, I didn't want to waste the lovely day because I got up very early, so I went outside and looked for a nice spot to roam around.

IMG_20240218_130754.jpg

I visited Yeun Long to see an abandoned place. I opted to find a good place to have my lunch first before visiting my desired destination that day. After searching for good cafes nearby, I found 87 Coffee. It's been a while since I've been to a coffee shop, and I missed posting on #CCOC Community too.

IMG_20240218_223230.jpg

According to its logo, this cafe opened its doors in 2014. Given its proximity to several well-known eateries and cafes in the neighborhood, it is competitive while being relatively new. I was not prepared to see much of Yeun Long. I made the decision to visit this town more frequently in order to look for some excellent cafes and restaurants after my recent visit. In addition, the small town is a nice place to take a stroll on the weekends, and there are some well-known tourist attractions nearby.

IMG_20240218_131121.jpg

I must admit that I was disappointed when I saw it because it wasn't the shop I was expecting to see. The physical store I visited is not the same as the picture I saw online. I later discovered that the 87 Coffee shop I had anticipated seeing was actually someplace in Mainland China, not the Yeun Long branch. I have been deceived by the person who uploaded the photo. But I thought the food would taste the same because they are from the same franchise.

IMG_20240218_130941.jpg

IMG_20240218_131751.jpg

87 Coffee is just a small coffee shop with a casual interior design. It has a dining area on the 2nd floor, but it was occupied, so I chose a table on the first floor. The seats are limited so this shop can't cater to big gatherings. It has a minimalistic design but I like its simplicity, and its warm ambiance envelops a cozy embrace.

IMG_20240218_131711.jpg

IMG_20240218_131939.jpg

The suspended lamps caught my attention. They are unique and each has a potted plant in the middle.

IMG_20240218_131829.jpg

Each table has a pitcher of water with herbs. I wasn't sure what it was but I like it and it's refreshing.

IMG_20240218_131724.jpg

Orders in cafes like this usually take a while since they are freshly prepared and cooked. At first, I thought of ordering iced coffee but when I saw longan and red date tea, I immediately chose it, as it's been a while since I drank Chinese sweet tea. It was served in a small tea pot which I liked as it preserved the warmness of the tea, unlike those tea served on a cup which cools down easily.

IMG_20240218_220209.jpg

That way, I can simply pour tea into the cute tea cup when I want to drink. I enjoyed drinking it while waiting for the main dish. It has a mild sweet and soothing flavor, truly a perfect tea combination. Both longan and red dates are beneficial to health as well.

IMG_20240218_220254.jpg

After more or less twenty minutes, my food was served. It's a plate of English breakfast consisting of pan-fried chicken chop and scrambled egg with toasted waffles, potato nuggets, and a small amount of veggie salad dressed with sauce.

IMG_20240218_220509.jpg

IMG_20240218_220122.jpg

It's been a while since I ate an English breakfast set at lunchtime at a coffee shop. It feels good to be back in this kind of place. There isn't a rush and I could enjoy the delicious food on my plate. This time is a combination of English and Chinese food on my table.

IMG_20240218_222324.jpg

IMG_20240218_215840.jpg

This breakfast set is typical, but it varies from individual tastes. I suppose 87 Coffee's chef is a culinary expert. I had a delicious plate of food with balanced flavors. Meanwhile, the warm aroma of longan and red date tea was soothing and comforting. I was expecting, though, to eat a soft waffle, but it was toasted, thus crispy, and it was my first time eating such. However, I liked how it was done, and I enjoyed eating it by putting the soft scrambled eggs on top. The combination was satisfying. The chicken was fried well; not oily, and not hard, and I ate it alongside the salad.

IMG_20240218_215731.jpg

It was a delightful experience staying at 87 Coffee with the comforting aroma of the freshly brewed tea, and the satisfying flavors of the food combination on my plate. I stayed for quite a long period watching a Kdrama series while savoring my food. I then left the cafe with a sense of contentment and relaxation. I was happy that day because I finally visited a coffee shop after quite a while. And afterward, I embarked on a new journey to my desired destination.

Happy humpday on my side of the world Hiveans!

Thanks for your time.


•••


FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

IMG_20240124_202536.jpg

Jane is a Filipina wanderer in a foreign land who finds comfort in nature and freedom in writing. She loves watching raw picturesque landscapes, listening to the symphony of nature, breathing in drops of sunshine, walking through scenic trails and cityscapes, tasting new culinary flavors, capturing pretty little things, venturing into hidden gems, and dancing with the flow of life.

Her new experiences, adventures, challenges, lessons, small successes, and joys are colorful paints that fill up her canvas of life. She hopes to see it beautifully painted while she can.

Join her on her quest for self-discovery and wanderlust. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, drop a comment, reblog, and follow for more wonderful adventures.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected: Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, noise.app, read.cash.

All photos are mine.


©All Rights Reserved 2024
(Unless Otherwise Stated)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency