Valentine's Day Theater Play

Ger-Man (8).jpg

Below you will read my first play written for the Cinnamon Cup Coffee community at Hive which is celebrating its second anniversary. This has been a great challenge for me that has pushed me out of my comfort zone.

It is a short, one-act play with which I intend to celebrate Valentine's Day.

Scenario:
A nicely decorated living room with a sofa, a table with cups for coffee, a milk jug, a sugar bowl, teaspoons, knives for spreading butter, some rolls, and a fireplace. Next to the sofa is a small table and above the table is a large vase full of red roses and a large wall clock hanging above the fireplace.

Characters:

-Maria: A young woman, with a cheerful and carefree personality.

-David: A young, attractive man, with a fun and charming attitude.

-The vase of flowers: The vase is the narrator of the play.

-The clock: He will only have one intervention in the play and he will do it with a deep and grave voice.

Director's Note:
This play is designed to tell a story of love, comedy, and drama. The overall tone should be fun and light-hearted, with some moments of romance and drama. The audience should feel the love and connection between the main characters.

Single Act:

(Mary enters the living room and smiles as she sees the flowers in the vase. She sits down on the sofa and leans back, still looking at the flowers. David enters a moment later, looking clueless, but also smiling).

Maria: Hi David, are you coming? How did it go at the office?

David: Yes, I just had an altercation with a neighbor because his dog was acting up and I got excrement all over my shoe, the smell is horrible. How are you, María?

María: Good, very good! I'm very happy, today is Valentine's Day and I guess you didn't forget it.

David: Well, I'm a little tired. How could I forget this sacred date? Are we going to celebrate Valentine's Day?

Maria: Yes, every Valentine's Day should be celebrated, love should be a celebration.

(Mary and David: they approach each other, embrace and kiss passionately. The clock chimes to strike).

Clock: It's midnight! Happy Valentine's Day.

(Maria and David let go and look at the clock).

David: Did you hear that, the clock spoke.

María: That can't be happening, that only happens in fairy tales, it must have been the wind. How about dancing?

(Maria and David begin to dance to the sound of a romantic song. They embrace and kiss again. The clock again shows that it is midnight. Maria and David stop, look into each other's eyes and then look at the clock as if waiting for it to speak again. She hands David a Valentine's Day card).

María: I love you until I lose my mind.

David: I love you too, but if you give me coffee, I will love you more.

(Maria and David kiss. The clock strikes midnight again and the vase falls with the flowers. The audience applauds. The curtain also falls).

Separador GerMan.gif

  • This story is fictitious, total or partial reproduction in any form is prohibited.

  • Original content created by @germanandradeg for HIVE.

  • All rights reserved.

  • © Copyright 2023 Germán Andrade G.

Separador GerMan.gif

You will get the link to the source of the cover by clicking on it.

Thank you for your visit and for your comment.

I use CANVA to edit the images you see in my publications.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency