Till death do us part.

I look through the window of the aeroplane and couldn't help but admire the beauty of the land view. Staring at the tiny lights of the cities from the sky was the same as looking at the sky from the ground, the night look perfect from up there.

"Hello, Mr. George. Do you care for more coffee?", a beautiful voice called back my soul that had left to see the beauty of the city we were currently flying over.

"Oh, yes", I stuttered as I readjusted on the seat.

"I will be right back", she replied.

I gently turned my head in the direction she went and my eyes met with a woman who was looking in my direction as well.

"Hi", I whispered as I waved my wrinkled hand.

She put up a faint smile as her lips moved gently.

I guessed she said ""hello" as well.

"Here is your coffee sir", the air hostess said as she gently pushed a trolley to my side.

"Thanks", I replied.

The aroma of the coffee filled the almost empty plane and I could feel my belly rumbling, it was desperate to confirm what my nose was saying to the other parts of the body.

Age is not on my side and even though my sense organs aren't very active like they use to be, the presence of coffee gives them a different energy.

I took a deep breath to turn of the suspense for my belly before taking the first sip. I eventually did and every sip meant more than just a drink to me as I grew older.

"I recognize a coffee lover when I see one", a voice said from behind.

It turned out to be the woman our eyes met earlier.

"You must be a coffee lover as well ma'am", I replied and could feel my wrinkles give space for a smile on my chin.

"Do you mind if I seat next to you?", She asked.

"Why not? It is a big plane with only a few passengers", I responded.

She got out of her seat and I could tell that she was in her mid-forties.

"My husband used to be a coffee lover, we still sprinkle coffee beans at his grave to date", she said.

"Oh, may his soul rest in peace. Sorry for your loss", I responded.

"It is okay, I wish the immortality coffee was discovered earlier. He could still be alive even though he won't drink coffee anymore. Forgive my manner, I am Mrs Brentwood", she introduced herself.

"No problem ma'am, I am Mr. George", I gently bowed my head before sipping from the cup again.

"Do you live here or came for the immortality coffee?", She asked.

"No, I am from Nigeria and it has been my wish to visit Hive City someday. Age is not on my side anymore, who knows what will happen the next minute", I replied.

"Oh, I see. A lot of people have been visiting the city to become immortals and for your age, I thought you might be here for that as well", she replied.

We both smiled as I took another sip from the cup.

"Do you live here as well?", I asked.

"No, I came for the immortality coffee ritual. I want to be there for my children, we truly can't predict the next minute and I don't want to disappear just like my husband, the children and family business needs me", she replied.

I couldn't help but laugh at her words and I haven't laughed so much like that in a long time.

"I love people who have a big heart like you, they are always putting everyone into consideration and forgetting themselves is what I don't find fascinating about them".

"I am wealthy and judging by how much I will still love to enjoy life, there shouldn't be anything stopping me from getting the immortality coffee but it would be the greatest mistake a man will ever make. I heard about this coffee when my old age sickness started but I can't be part of it.", I paused to sip again.

There was confusion written all over her face and I felt she was ignorant about the repercussions of her decision.

"What would happen after you gain immortality, when your kids grow and can watch over themselves plus handle the business you speak of? Nature is perfect, there is a time to be born and a time to die, it's nature's cycle, and I don't intend breaking it", I said.

"Nothing, I will just live on", she replied.

"Live on with what after everyone you love is gone or do you think everyone wants to live forever?".

"I have lived well enough and aside from tampering with nature, I want to drink coffee even till the very last minute of my life. For immortality, I will pass and I wish you success in your quest to live forever"


Source


The plane turned gently and I peeped through the window again, the airport was visible even from the sky.

"It looks like we have arrived in Hive", I said gently but Mrs Brentwood didn't look like she was with me anymore.

"Mrs Brentwood", I called as I tapped her.

"Oh, forgive me, sir. I fell into a deep thought about what you have said. I will just enjoy making this trip a vacation", thanks for opening my eyes to the truth.

"It's nothing, I wish you a happy stay here", I replied.

"All passengers should please fasten their seat belts, Welcome to Hive City", the pilot's voice echoed from the speakers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency