Coffee business

Generic square (3).png

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place.

- George Bernard Shaw -



I've been working on a large deal with a major trucking company over the last few months and, I'll not lie, it's been a lot of hard work. It's not so much putting the quotes and deal together, although that's been complicated in itself; no, it's been the person on the other end of the deal, my company's customer, that has made the process onerous, to say the least.

My communications with the trucking company's representative have largely been by email with about twenty percent being phone conversations. I'd concluded that the fellow had a prickly demeanour, to put it nicely; in short, he was a dick head. Well, that's how he'd acted over the course of the quote and deal process anyway.

He was difficult to get hold of, answered my detailed emails for specifications and requirements sporadically and incompletely and rarely gave me the information I needed in full. That made it very difficult to get my job done and, because I'm structured, systematised and work to deadlines, it drove me bonkers.

We're not talking about a small amount of work here; the overall value of the contact will be just below $600,000AUD and, whilst this trucking company is one of Australia's largest and that value is only a very small figure compared to what they spend overall, it's still a lot of money. I was having trouble doing business with the guy and that was affecting my performance and motivation and those are two things I don't like to compromise. Ever.

I decided to take another path.

Late last week I suggested we meet at a café for a chat to finalise the specifications which would permit me to finalise the quote. It was a last-ditch effort to get things on track and I'd expected it to be an exercise in futility as I didn't think he'd agree. But he did.

I met the guy at a café of my choice, which was close to me and a fair way from where the trucking company is located; I did that on purpose to see how committed he was to the meeting. He agreed, and we met at close to the appointed hour. He was late.

We had a couple coffee's together and over the course of an hour came to understand each other a little more and moved the whole thing forward in leaps and bounds. An excellent meeting indeed.

As it turns out, the old fellow is extremely novice when it came to technology. He's on old trucker that has worked his way upwards through the company through hard work, sheer determination, and effort. He knows a lot but has trouble translating it electronically which was behind the disconnect he and I had experienced over the last couple of months.

He had thought I was moving too fast, (I had thought I was moving at a snail's-pace), and he felt unable to keep up. Excellent, now we're getting somewhere. Essentially, the issues were occurring as we were not communicating effectively which was causing roadblocks along the way; he zigged when I zagged and vice versa.

The meeting went really great; we have a lot in common outside of our jobs and I think, since the meeting took place, we're on the same page as one another, at least as far as the communication goes.

He understands what I need and why and I understand why it's so damned difficult for him to get it to me...His non-tech savvy nature. Over a couple cups of coffee, we came up with a workable plan and in the several days since the process has jumped forward, so much so the deal is almost secured. Thanks coffee!


I've done a lot of business in coffee shops over the years and, invariably, a cup of coffee or two ensues during the meetings and things tend to go a little more smoothly.

I'm not sure if it's the fact all parties are a little more relaxed in that moment or if coffee has magical powers, however I believe business dealings can be a little easier in situations like that. Maybe it's because a coffee shop is neutral ground? I don't know, however I'm grateful.

Getting this deal over the line is a good thing for me; not because I make more money or the Director will be happy, but because I'll be happy with myself for getting it done. Locking this one in will be a great moment and, when I look back, I think the lessons learned along the way will be as valuable as winning the deal.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

The image is mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
82 Comments
Ecency