International Coffee Day/ A night at the airport with coffee as a companion

My name is Marlin, and I am a cabin crew member in commercial airplanes, I am a great lover of coffee and I would like to tell you about my experiences with this aromatic beverage while I was traveling around the world.

Imagen Original tomada en el Aeropuerto de Buenos Aires, Argentina

ENGLISH

I was delighted to discover that there is a community dedicated to talking about coffee and reviewing coffee shops. I congratulate you from the bottom of my heart for this excellent idea, with which I deeply identify, since coffee is always present in my life.

Today I would like to join the International Coffee Day initiative by telling you about one of the many experiences I have had on my flights where my faithful companion gave me the warmth and energy to keep going in spite of the fatigue that my job can sometimes bring.

As you can imagine the work of a flight attendant involves being on your feet for a long time, so coffee helps me a lot to give me energy and keep me attentive to serve passengers in the aisle of the plane, I certainly enjoy the aroma of freshly brewed coffee, so I always ask my fellow flight attendants to allow me to take care of the preparation of coffee in the express machine in the small kitchen that we manage, Of course, that was when I was still flying, now I am dedicated to the tourist trade and I also enjoy visiting many places where I know a great variety of coffee shops that are great to show you reviews.

But back to the subject, my experience in long working days was not just anything, so I chose one that I remember especially because I was more than 24 hours awake in the solitude of a large airport where my only consolation was a large thermos of coffee that accompanied me faithfully throughout the day, allowing me to be successful in that long journey.

In one opportunity I got a job to make a vacation to a colleague who at that time worked in the extinct airline of Uruguay Pluna, certainly something that represented a great opportunity in my career because it was an international line and also the payment in dollars was very good for me, so I took it without hesitation.

But in order to get to that far away country located in the easternmost part of Latin America, I had to fly from Venezuela to Argentina and then make the connection to the airport in Uruguay, something really very pressing, since the time difference gives you only a space of half an hour to board the next flight.

At this point, fate played an important part, even Murphy's Law that tells you that when something can go wrong, it will go wrong, and when circumstances are out of your hands it is best to accept them, take it easy and enjoy a good coffee while passing the time.

The plane from Venezuela was delayed for almost an hour, which is why I arrived in Argentina after the last plane to Uruguay had already departed, what I did not know at that time is that in Argentina the entire airport ceases activities during the night, so there are no stores open and passengers who can not leave the city must remain within what they call the transit zone until dawn.

So, I arrived in Buenos Aires after 8 pm and found out about the situation, I had to spend 12 hours without being able to sleep in the waiting room until I could take my flight the next day at 8 am to Montevideo.

Friends of the crew of Austral Airlines in Argentina

As I didn't have much money either because I was just starting my career I resigned myself to looking for a comfortable chair where I had internet, so I could at least connect and watch a movie and with the little money I had I bought a thermos of Argentine mate, but instead of filling it with hot water, I filled it with the most delicious coffee I have ever tasted, not because it was special or anything, maybe it was not even of high quality, but in the middle of an empty airport its warmth, aroma, and flavor made me happy and kept me more cheerful and enthusiastic than the best of lovers, being faithful in its work of company until the last moment during those endless 12 hours of waiting with shivering cold.

Thanks to this thermos of coffee my evening was tolerable and the next day I embarked without problems to the Carrasco Airport in Montevideo, Uruguay having the joy of finally being able to sleep during the whole flight in one of the most modern airplanes of that time, an Embraer 190 of Austral Airlines that provides services from the Ezeiza Airport in Buenos Aires, Argentina and then live a great adventure working in a beautiful country of friendly people.

So far my anecdote about how coffee helped me to overcome an unforeseen circumstance encouraged me at all times, I hope you like it.

All images in this post are my property and cannot be used without my permission.

The divider was made in Canva, using multiple royalty free images from Pixabay, freepng vectors and freewing.

All Rights Reserved

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency