How It Tasted After Some Decades

How It Tasted After Some Decades

Designed With Canva

It's been decades since I set my eyes on coffee, it all started like a joke when we heard the news on the radio that some plants would be extinct due to climate change, who would have thought that coffee would be amongst them? If only wishes were horses.

It's funny how time flies fast, we are now in the year 2500, and things look extremely different before my eyes. Some of us were forced to switch from coffee to tea due to coffee extinction. I know many people are expecting me to have gotten over coffee from my mind completely but no!! That love is inherent.

Sometimes before I go to work, I stop at my favorite coffee shop and imagine how things used to be. I missed the smell of that substance. Unfortunately, the shop has been converted into a restaurant now.

Every morning, when I make tea for Mama, I can tell from her looks that she doesn't like it. But we had no option for now. Last week while we were having breakfast, she asked me a very funny question, "Son do you think we are ever going to have coffee again"? I looked at her and smiled trying to dodge the question but she gave me her other look, so I replied, "Well, I am not so sure Mom but anything is possible."

If not for anything but for my mama, I wished, I had my way to get coffee back even if it's going to be just once, let her just feel the taste once again.

Since our father passed away, his secret chamber was left untidy, Mom doesn't seem to be comfortable seeing anything that belongs to him, it seems to bring back old memories. But While we having morning devotion on Saturday, she brought up the idea of cleaning the room. I tried to kick against it because I knew how emotional she could be and I was not ready for any of it at the moment but she withstood me saying "We can't escape fate, what has happened has happened, she is ready to move on now" those words sounded nice to my ears.

The following day, we went into the room and it was as I expected it to be, very dusty and dark. The room has not been cleaned for years. We opened the windows to get illumination, after which we began cleaning up. There was this box in the room that had been drawing my attention but I tried to resist it so that I could finish my own role and go to my friend's place for a party.

But the more I tried to resist the box, the more it drew my attention, so I just decided to go near and open it. Within was a container and I was wondering why my late father would keep a container in a box. Out of curiosity, I opened it slightly and I perceived a smell that looked so familiar yet bizarre.

I decided to take it out, and when Mom saw me, she asked, "What's that"? "I don't know yet but it's definitely something good". I replied as I went to the parlor. I opened it, and behold, it was a vacuum-sealed packet. This is getting interesting I said, I pushed further and opened the packet and saw something dark, whose sweet smell was irresistible. I said to myself, "I hope it's not what I am thinking ? Mom come and see this" " She came out and on seeing the substance she said "Don't tell me this is coffee" ? Well, "see for yourself"I replied.

Source

Sanitation instantly stopped, we checked the container thoroughly and it has two more years before the substance expires. Mom looked at me and I looked back at her, 'what's next" she asked?" Coffee time of course" I replied. "But Not so fast young man", she responded, let's finish the work first.

After the work, she prepared us some cappuccino, am still surprise how she still remember how to prepare that. Well, honestly, it tasted as if I had never had coffee in my entire life, everything tasted new, every sip I had was like magic, and the taste seemed to be better than the ones I once had, I don't know if it's because I didn't have it in decades. however, the smell remains the same.

Source

After the drink, I said to Mom," I wish, we could have this throughout the year she laughed" and said," Everything is possible right"? Yes, I replied but how? She said I have a surprise for you too. She went into her room and brought some coffee beans, I found them in your father's chamber who knows, With the improvement in technology now, we may give them life


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency