Entry For Coffee Lovers Competition No. 1

As the cafes are now open for takeaways only, we hotfooted it down to the cafe on our local canal. It's the first time in a year I've purchased a coffee from a cafe. It was lovely and sunny, so it was no hardship to sit outside.

Katey's Cafe was doing well. The canal is frequented by joggers, cyclists, dog walkers and just plain old walkers (I don't mean the zombie type either, although some of them refused to say hello, so I wasn't so sure in the end).

As a youngster, I can remember my parents only drinking tea. Coffee was far too expensive and deemed a bit of a luxury. At some point, my coffee drinking cousin came to live with us for a year. As she paid board, my mum bought her coffee with the money. Of course, I tried some and my love affair with coffee began! I can't stand tea now.

In my mum's advancing years she popped into a Costa shop once and never looked back! My brother used to call her the Queen of Costa. Now that she is no longer with us, I miss sitting at the table drinking a Costa and chewing the fat.

My favourite coffee at the time was a gingerbread latte with cream. I loved it but so did my waistline! I've stopped drinking milk now, but still enjoy an Americano with no milk. I think you can taste the coffee more.

Good to see people respecting the canal and putting their litter in the bin. The canal has been restored in the past few years, and it's now a lovely spot to visit. One thing is for sure, coffee is for life not just for Christmas!

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency