A Quick Stop for Coffee at Arkwright's Cafe

After a nice walk, we popped into Arkwright's Cafe in Cromford. The cafe is situated in the courtyard at Cromford Mills. The mill was built in 1771 by Sir Richard Arkwright and is the world’s first successful cotton spinning mill that is powered by water. Source I can remember learning all about Richard Arkwright at school and how he devised a spinning machine. The water frame spun cotton yarn more quickly, much more than a human could, so more profitable. I can also remember the little pencil drawings I did and how bored I was! Now I'm a lot older, I'm much more interested in the past.

There's a few craft and antiques shops and various events happening in the yard. At the cafe, there's also a choice of indoor and outdoor seating on the picnic benches. To say it was a Bank Holiday, it was relatively quiet.

We decided to sit inside. It was nice to get a table as sometimes it's been that packed we've gone elsewhere. Where food is concerned, we aren't very patient.

We settled on baked potatoes with roasted potatoes, salad and hummus and a latte. It was nice but as usual, there wasn't enough of it. I could have done with a double portion.

It was a nice cafe with a comfortable atmosphere. I would be more than happy to go back but I would probably have a scone to fill me up. On the way out we decided to have a couple of iced coffees to take with us. It did feel like summer after all ...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency