Agatha Of Gavalon: The outcast

Agatha, a native of Gavalon, found her way home after a very long time. She had returned from exile after being punished for planting a tree that was known to be forbidden by the native of the land. It's been 15 years since she left, she misses her family and couldn't wait to reunite with them. Silence welcomed her in the old house with mushrooms growing on the weak walls. The news of her mum's death troubled her and she decided to go back to the city. It was while she journeyed back that she came across a yard sale. An old woman who was relocating to Cyprus decided to sell off her properties, among them was an old portrait of a beautiful woman drinking coffee. Agatha developed interest in the old portrait, her mum was a lover of coffee. Looking at the portrait, Agatha chuckled, her mum would have given the woman in the portrait a credit because she held the coffee cup so tight just the way she always wanted her to; the portrait was the only thing to remember about her late mum and she decided to buy it.

Agatha got to her new house still feeling sad, memories of her mum flooded her mind. She held the portrait and stared at it for a long time. The dress and the setting of the room where the woman on the portrait sat drinking coffee looked familiar except for the woman's face. She turned the portrait around and noticed a small porch that could hardly be noticed. Her mum always made such a small porch each time she wanted to send a secret message to a friend. She dipped her fingers into it and brought out a yellow note, it was folded and sealed. She unsealed it and read;

Photo Source

Dear Agatha

If you're reading this, it means you've found the tiny porch and gotten my letter. I had taught you about this porch hoping a day will come like this. It's been 7 years since you left and my whole life no longer has meaning, sorry I couldn't do anything watching you leave. I'm sick and I know I have a little time before I join my forefathers, so I have made a portrait of our youngest sister, her name is Maria, she lives in the Bahamas.

Before World War II, she went missing and I heard the good news after your banishment that she's alive and lives in the Bahamas. She's influential now and has several farms. You had always wanted to be an agriculturist, this will be a perfect opportunity for you. I just hope one day you'll be able to practice your dreams with no restrictions, and I'll be happy to see you prosper no matter where I am.

Maria is also a lover of coffee, she has good recipes just like mine and you wouldn't need to miss the taste of my morning coffee. I'll only miss the fact that I wouldn't see you again. Before I forget, I have accumulated some treasures that I hope will help you start life. They are not silver and gold but if you sell them, it might cover up for the years you've been in exile. In the old hut are bags of coffee beans that I have harvested. I've preserved them to maintain their taste for a long time. You can sell them and make a living with the money you realize from it. I love you Agatha, and I'll always do.

From your dearest mum, Roseline

Agatha held the letter with a teary eyes

"I love you too mum" she said, holding the letter tightly against her chest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency