1985, A time in my life

It was a cold June night, probably the coldest in two years I've been in Maldive. Jenny and I had gone out to have some coffee. The thick cardigan she wore did not seem enough to block the cold air that seemed to penetrate to one's bone marrow.

"Move closer" I told her, watching her hands shiver with the coffee cup from the faint light penetrating through the pane windows from where we sat. I have known her for barely three months but it seemed as if I've known her my whole life. She was a coffeewoman, her choice of coffee amazes me, I wondered if it was why I loved her.

To the contrary, she drifted away and kept looking outside.

"What's wrong?" I asked. I was very surprised . In the past three months we've been together Jenny had never been this cold, she had barely spoken a word since we arrived and I knew it wasn't because of the weather.

"Is this the best way to spend an evening in a coffee shop?" I asked.

"How else?" She answered with a question, her voice carrying a tone which I was not sure was anger or defiance.

Is anything wrong? I asked myself, of course everything is wrong, I told myself. She turned to face me, looking angry. I stayed calm not knowing what to think. I was hoping to propose to her tonight, but not in this state.

Photo Source

"Johnson William, the vampire" She called me.

I was shocked, very shocked. No one knew me by this name unless with those whom we attended highschool with. I was about to ask who she was, then she added

"1985, under the Camford bridge, do you remember? She asked.

I clearly remembered, but then, we were four, a girl and two other guys. We had just finished several shots of coffee when we left for the bridge. I didn't even know who the girl was but we made out. I sought for that girl after that night but found her not.

"I didn't know who the guy was that night, I became pregnant and had to leave school to nurture the baby. That night was the beginning of my misery. The only thing I remember about him was the dark mark on his neck, I had to make my findings after seeing the same mark on your neck and i can't believe I'm meeting with the same guy who ruined my life after 37 years"

I became dumbfounded, I didn't know the best way to tell her I sought-after her, that I fell in love with her that very night.

"I'm sorry for all the pains I've caused you" I heard myself say, "I searched for you, and asked my friends who the girl was but none of them knew you". I held her hands as she sobbed.

"Give me a chance to make things right again". I said. She freed her hands and left angrily.

Two days later after trying to reach her with no response, My phone beeped with a message from a new number that afternoon

Meet me at the coffee shop by 5:00pm if you want to see your son and talk things out

The message read.

So, I'm now a father?I smiled broadly, thinking to myself. I couldn't wait to make things right between us. I set an alarm and waited eagerly for the alarm to tell me it was time I'm about to enter another stage in my life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency