STB #21 The explanation

You're at a yard sale and find a painting of a beautiful woman drinking coffee. You purchase it and take it home with you. As you go to hang it on your wall you notice that there is something underneath the paper at the back. You remove the paper and find an old letter. Write the letter that you found.

I delicately detached the paper, which was behind the painting, I did not want the letter that was on the back of it to be damaged, I was curious to know what it said and who had written it to him, look for a cup of coffee with cinnamon and I sat in front of the fireplace and began to read it.

Dear Robert

You may be wondering, why did I send you the painting that our father sent him to paint, mom? But I think that after everything that happened it would be better if you had it, and there was a time when you and she were very close, and you could honor that, despite everything, don't you think?

I know that it was not easy for you to accept your mother's escape with Miss Deborah, it has taken me a long time to understand why she decided to abandon us and leave home with that woman whom I especially loved so much and respect do not think that you were the only one who suffered disappointment and felt betrayed, I also experienced it and twice, because as I already mentioned, I was very fond of Miss Deborah, who always gave me encouragement and support, something that was never offered to me by our parents.

Perhaps you are thinking that I am exaggerating, but deep down you know that it is not like that, our parents preferred you, you cannot deny that, I, on the other hand, was the unwanted daughter, the accident as a dad sometimes used to say, who I force mom to keep me inside her womb because she wanted to abort me, get rid of me, but her religious and moral principles were stronger, that's why he did not accept the interruption, thanks to that I was able to born, although sometimes I wonder if It would not have been preferable for our mother to suspend the pregnancy because let me tell you, I never felt welcome in our family.

In addition, having to endure, for a long time, the gossip and scathing comments that the townspeople made regarding our mother's elopement with Miss Deborah, which contributed in large part to our father immersing himself more in alcohol, I never mentioned this to you before, since I didn't want to worry you after all the shame we have suffered because of the lesbian life that mom decided to lead, this certainly has not been easy for both of us.

However, the letter I am writing to you is not precisely to talk about this unfortunate fact but to clarify it. Before mom died, she invited me to have a cup of coffee together, I took the opportunity to apologize for the damage she had caused us, and she explained to me that from an early age she had a special preference for women, she married our father due to the demands of grandfather Thomas, who forced her to marry, after her aunt Charlotte found her in the wine cellar with some house servants in a lesbian orgy.

Mom tried to lead a normal life, but after she got pregnant with me, she knew she couldn't take that farce anymore. She also told me that she never thought of running away with Miss Deborah, she was going to do it alone, what happened was that the lady was leaving her house to go live with the priest of the church and they both coincided on the date and time only with that, but after that none of them saw each other again. Our mother, after leaving home, was without a partner for a long time until she met Isabelle, a showgirl who lived in Cannes, she spent the rest of her existence there, always missing us and longing to see us again.

She confessed to me that he never dared to look for us again until he found out about his serious illness, so he decided to investigate the place where he lived, he did not want to die without having spoken to me and having the possibility of explaining everything to me, he regretted having made us suffer and especially to dad, who had been a loving and respectful husband, and to whom she did not know how to reciprocate as she should, she complained about not being able to see you again, but she understood your reasons for leaving the country, and she was also glad that we managed to some way to continue living without her.

After this long talk, we hugged, and we didn't see each other again after that Isabelle called me to notify me that mom had passed away and that her face showed peace, I confess that I cried for the time we both wasted and for all the resentment and hate that I had harbored in my heart, unnecessary feelings when you come to understand the reasons that led our mother to make that difficult decision, now I understand why Robert did it happiness comes first even though it sounds selfish, we should always try to do what we make us happy.

Sincerely, your sister, who loves you.

Beatrice Taylor





Front page eberhard grossgasteiger on unsplash



©Devania, 2022

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency