At A Fortune-teller's

It was a cold winter morning. I was away holidaying at the house of my best friend, Philip Roberts, who was a music producer and owned a large studio, that had had the honor of producing the music of some famed artists in the country. Whenever I visited this studio it was always busy and overflowing with people. While on holiday this time, I didn't have a lot of time to visit my dear friend in his studio, I stayed home instead and stuffed myself with tasty delicacies, eyes glue to the television, or my ears ringing with music from the ear pods. When I got tired I toured the streets, and took in it's pleasant sounds and sights. 

Philip returned one day from the studio, and said he was free tommorow and we could go out together.

"There is a special friend of mine I would like us to pay a visit." He said.

I didn't reply and he added as if reading my thoughts:

"Don't worry, it will be a fun experience, I know you are always out for the fun part of everything."

I heaved a sigh.

The next day we paid Philip's friend a visit. We alighted from the car in front of a huge deserted-looking mansion.   A foxy young woman answered the door. 

https://pixabay.com/es/photos/mansi%c3%b3n-casa-inmobiliaria-lujo-875094/

The mansion was a truly magnificent piece of architecture. The outside as well as the inside, very exquisite, though it looked somehow eerie and lonely. 

The young woman that answered the door brought wine and glasses, and said to Philip,

"She will see you soon, she is busy at the moment." 

Philip replied,

"Thank you, Anya," 

and poured the wine into glasses. 

"I didn't want to tell you exactly what we are here to do, until we got here, I knew your being skeptical of such things might make you not want to." 
"She is a famed fortune-teller," Philip continued. "She is the one that saw that my future lay in music production, and I followed that and look where I am today. I am here to see her about a little complication I am experiencing in the business but I thought it good to bring you along, to see if she might have something for you too." 

"Something for me indeed." I retorted. 

She can tell your thoughts by looking into your empty coffee cup. From that she can give you important directions for the future." 

"Ridiculous," I said, then added, "As we didn't bring any coffee cups along how's she going to go about doing that?"

"Allow her worry about that."  Phillip replied .

Soon the fortune-teller was with us in her large exquisitely furnished living room. She was a tall, fair-complexioned and extremely beautiful woman, and she got straight to business the moment she arrived.

 


 

When I sat face to face with her after she was done with Philip, she fixed a look upon my face that exuded calmness, beauty and power and yet unsettled me all the same.

https://pixabay.com/es/photos/beber-taza-caf%c3%a9-vac%c3%ado-t%c3%a9-cer%c3%a1mico-3165644/

A coffee cup was on the table, had materialized from nowhere, and she placed her gaze upon it and began speaking in slow measured tones.

"Is this yours?"

she asked, indicating the cup. I took a closer look and couldn't hide my surprise. It was mine, and it looked just exactly like I had left it back home, not well washed from my last coffee drink.

I can read your heart by just looking into this, has it been told you thus?"

"Yes." I said.

Her facial expression changed and she spoke in an unearthly tone.

"There is only one way you can have the life you desire. You want to live a life that will affect others positively, is that right?" 

I assented. She went on.

"You live in a world of pain and misery because of the feeling you have for the troubles of others." 

Right now I was gazing intently at her and somewhat fearfully, because she was saying the truth.

"But the only way to survive long enough to help others is by taking it easy on yourself. Yourself first, then you can save others." 

She went on:

"You were recently diagnosed with high blood pressure," I nodded, and she continued. "That's the result of overworrying about others. This was exactly the case of a Prophet in the Christian Holy Book named Moses. He took on the burdens of others prematurely and it almost weighed him down. As the same book also says, 'Physician heal thyself' To save others you must first be saved. There are many things fundamentally wrong with you. Paramountly, a destabilizing fear of failure, fear of what others think of you, doubts about your own capabilities, and others. These things must first be dealt with before you are ready to save others." She now gazed directly into my eyes, "Feel free to tell me if I say something fallacious about you. Any I have said yet?"

"No," I replied. "Please by all means go on." 

"Ways to take care of those weaknesses will come naturally to you, but you must first invest yourself in the reading of knowledgeable books. Only then can you know how to erase your weaknesses and build your strengths." 

It appeared she was now concluding.

"When the time for helping others comes, when you are ready to do it, you will get a sign, it will be a sign difficult to miss, yet keep your eyes and ears open." 

She then indicated that she was through with me. I took one last curious look at the cup on the table and then went downstairs to Philip.

On the way back home, I said very little, all the while pondering on the extraordinary experience I just had and all the exciting ways it could change my life.

The End.

Thanks for reading.

 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency