In Your Darkness, I Found Light

I met this gem of a woman, at least I did through her books in August of 2021, and I kid you not, it was love at first sight read. The very first book of hers that I’d read was Mindfuck Series. It was so exquisitely dark, so beautifully dusky that I was enraptured, totally and absolutely captivated.

It’s like I’d found light in the midst of all the tenebrous events I’d been going through, which was quite ironic given how the book was. Mindfuck series consisted of five parts(books). And I’ve always considered myself a fast reader, but I completed all five of them in less than two days. There are not many authors that can incite such an unalloyed degree of devotion in a reader, but S. T Abby achieved it. Singlehandedly. Effortlessly. Breathtakingly.

Once I was done with that series, invigorated and filled with a happiness that I couldn’t quite fathom, I sought to read other books of hers, but no matter how deep I scoured, I didn’t find another book from the author. Disappointed somewhat, I looked for other books and came across the book Loving War by C.M. Owens. This one was quite light and not as dark as the last book I’d read. As I read the book though, I smiled to myself thinking how funny it was that some people could be so similar in mindset and method of writing but probably not even know each other.

I loved this book too so I decided to go to the internet and search for the author. It was to my greatest amazement when I found out that C.M. Owens and S. T Abby were one and the same person and not just that, she had another pen name she went by, Kristy Cunning. I was delirious with excitement. So Christy Owens was her name but she used Kristy Cunning for Reverse Harem and S. T Abby (Stabby) for darker, violent-themed books.


Image designed by me on Canva


I’d never seen anyone who could balance different genres ranging from sweet and wholesome to paranormal to fantasy and dark so effortlessly. I read all of her books as the years went by. Loving and adoring her even more after each book. Each book filled me with so many deep emotions, joy, laughter, suspense, love, you name it. I’d never found someone who set my imagination so aflame and filled me with scathing wit and deep knowledge. I could swear that my IQ increased after every book. She was that amazing.

While talking to @deraaa one of the days and finding out she was also a deep lover of Christie, I was elated. It felt wonderful to find someone that also shared the poignant feelings I had for her work. And then I told her about a particular book Christie had promised to release that I couldn’t find. It was while she was trying to look for the book that she sprinted to my dm to ask me if I knew that Christie had died.

I sent a voice note, screaming in horror. And the worst part was when I discovered that she’d died in July of 2021, the twenty fourth day to be precise after medical issues that she'd taken a hiatus from writing to attend to and then a tragic accident. Which was a month before I’d even discovered her books. I felt so sad that my favourite author had died for two years now and I never knew. It broke my heart and I was dampened the whole week.

So I choose today to honour Christie Owens, S. T Abby and Kristy Cunning, a woman I’d never met but was my best friend and the best friend to millions of readers who’d she kept company when they felt alone, and an inspiration to aspiring writers as well. She was a shining light to all those who tried to find their way out of the dark and even to those who wanted to remain there. She impacted my reading life so greatly and crystallized my book addiction with her deep words and even more beautiful personality. And it's something I would never forget.

The world may have lost an irreplaceable gem, but her works would live on forever in my heart and in the hearts of all who read her books. Rest well, Christie. You are loved and cherished here. Today and always.❤️



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency