Tribute to my late Aunt

February, 2021, I can't remember the exact date. I was in a meeting with my phone put on silent. At the time I checked my phone, I had 16 missed calls and a message. Immediately I knew it was bad News. I had left home for the meeting when my Aunty was critically ill. I checked the message and it was from my friend telling me my aunt has passed away. She left behind a lacuna no one can fill, she was not just a mother but a friend, she knew how to crack us up when we were sad and always showed concern in the area of our needs.

She was a nurse. Her impact was felt by virtually everyone in the small community that we lived in. If there's a nurse that has truly served humanity selflessly, then she's one. She was not the only nurse in the town, but she was more empathic than the rest, she could offer a free service and sometimes wouldn't care if she's paid or not. She was a friend to everyone including the children who knew her very well, and couldn't wait to share her knowledge with others. One prominent attribute about her was her smiles.

Photo Source

She died of an illness no one knew, even though it was suspected to be cancer. We missed her, especially when we looked around and saw things she would have done unattended to. Sometimes we sit and talk about the things she do, we knew her then as "The woman with a hand of gas" She can cook rice and beans and it'll be done within 30 minutes- a miracle only she can perform. Sometimes she tells us hilarious stories from her times in school. She always wanted to give, she had the heart to give but the means was not there and most times left us with promises. If only God had blessed her in financial abundance, she would have done all she promised. It's been 2 years and some months since her demise but she remains in our heart.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency