Plans, Publishing, Hive... Your Opinions?

I've been busy. Busy squirrelling away, making doodles of ideas before I forget them (because it's universal law that you think up ideas when at "real life work") - but, to be perfectly honest? I'm tired of just coming up with the ideas.
Before I get ahead of myself and make everyone think I've given up, far from it, allow me to explain:

THE IDEA:
Anyone who doesn't know, I'm aspiring to create and release a series of my own comics upon the world. The thing is, I'm not limiting myself to a simple setting of a city (for example), or just a small cast of 3 or 4 characters. No. My imagination has an entire galaxy in mind, individual planets, species, cultures and an overall threading narrative that links all of these as an original story. And thats the catch, Original - made fully from scratch, no stolen copyright infringements, something I can truly say is my own creation.

img_0.9884597125147203.jpg

For about 3, maybe 4 years I have been brainstorming and developing everything in this story. Sketches, written notes, ideas and various tweeks and revisions. But now, I just want to actually create something instead of thinking of something. But in order to make it, I have to obviously design and settle down on an idea. Otherwise, the story will be fractured and just made-up as I go - which I have done in the past, the most I got was about 36 full coloured pages, but like all of those make-it-as-you-go stories, they always hit a deadend. Either through plotholes or poor planning, usually both.

So. Question is, where do I define "ready?" - I am by nature a perfectionist. If the finished piece doesn't quite match my expectations or I feel like I can improve on it (which let's be honest, is a typical demon of many creative minds), I always end up re-doing and never actually getting anywhere. I feel like I'm pretty much ready now, it's just a very nervous step forward.

Truthfully, I'm a complete amateur in the big scary world of serious comic making (and I'm not afraid to admit that). So I realise there are a lot of changes to adjust to, and many things to learn. So far, I've been gaining advice on several things from a range of talented people both on here and on other social media communities, and every word has been extremely helpful and useful. But do I hold of until I've learnt more? Do I just steam ahead and actually make something? Or am I just overthinking things?

PUBLISHING:
Recently I've been looking into different ways of producing my book. It's very forward thinking considering I don't have a single page made yet, but I like to plan ahead and consider how to work accordingly. So far, self-publishing seems a standard choice (with its own share of advantage and disadvantages) and I've would never claim to be so ego-centric that a company like Marvel or whatever would even consider me (especially with all the loopholes and actual requirement of popularity in the first place) - but I'm wondering what everyone else does? Exactly where and how?

I found an interesting site called Blurb, but I'm uncertain of whether or not to work through them. The apps for creating book arrangements sound really useful however, plus they offer the option to branch through Amazon and Apple eBooks (even though I could likely do that myself anyway). It's all early days though, as I had mentioned, but I am curious if anyone else has experience with Blurb or similar sites?

HIVE:
This community, this little hive of minds. Where do I begin? I have so many questions. Admittedly, I was very apprehensive at first (I'm quite resistant against change, took me ages to even start an Instagram account) but I felt like it would be an excellent place to simply vent my thoughts (like now) and maybe discover a wider audience.

I'll be completely frank; I have dyscalculia. Basically a form of dyslexia, but struggling with mathematics and numbers instead of words and lettering. And Hive just happens to be full of numbers. I can work out the basic things (just a little slower than your average person), but I just can't get my head around the points system, the promote and boost and what exactly all of these points and numbers and trying to tell me. It isn't a big deal though, I'm just using Hive as a blog - but understanding the system would be nice (and everywhere I look is just mathematical jargon). And yet I can fully understand the principles of black holes and how an atom could potentially split. But numbers? It's very weird how the mind works... also causes issues with impatient customers during my retail work, but it's not like I advertise myself - and I don't harbor grudges regardless of how rude someone can be, I can't cure ignorance.

Jokes aside, anyone who could offer a laymans term of Hive's economy - I would love your feedback.

I also love anyone who managed to read through my nonsense and made it to the end. Good for you!
Any feedback on any topic I mentioned is always appreciated, plus I'm very open to any questions - personal or otherwise!
Thank you for your time and have a wonderful time doing whatever you do!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency