How It Started vs. How It's Going... Striving to Level Up My Comic Art Skills!

In my last post I shared a look at my process for coloring my independent comic book, "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." and ended with a comparison between a panel from 2019 and the revised version from 2021. Well, it took the better part of a week but I've finally finished (finished... yeah right! I'm sure I'll find things to edit and revise more!) this one tier of panels and just had to show it off because... 1. I'm really enthused about the results! and 2. I'm really trying to get more active on my "sosh meed" (translation: social media) in order to make this art thing a full time gig.

So without further ado, here's my little How it Started vs. How it's Going: "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Edition!


StartedvsGoing.png


Yeah, I drew in the little arrows for this graphic, but hopefully you didn't need to see them to know which version was which! I wanted to do away with chronological order and give the good art the top slot of course!

As was the case with many folks, my 2020 was particularly challenging shitty. As such my artistic output was quite low. I'm starting to get some momentum back and I'm pleased with how things are shaping up, which is an extreme rarity for a perfectionist like me!

Amazingly the improvements that I hope are clear aren't a result of tons of actual physical practice. Like I said, 2020 was pretty much a wash. However, in that interim I was steadily reading, watching videos, learning, and just plain thinking about all the things I needed to do differently and improve to make my comic much closer to the original vision I had in my head. More than anything it's a change in mindset alone that I believe is yielding me much better results.

I have a much larger post brewing to share how I fell short on the first iteration of my comic, the realization that I largely had to start from scratch, and my new goals and the resources I'm utilizing to work toward them.

If there are any particular questions you have or topics you'd like to see me address, please let me know in the comments section! I love talking shop with fellow artists and also hopefully getting readers and fans excited to see what comes next!

Until next time... I remain as always...

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency