Finding balance while on my phone.

Technology came as a welcome improvement and advancement to society especially here in Africa. We could clearly see it; the future and we embraced it with open arms.

I can clearly recall the day our first democratic president signed it, allowing my country to partake in the wonders of the mobile world. The entry of mobile phones began with small button phones, seemingly useless except for communication, till it graduated to smart phones with lots of features and user friendly apps that now, we can't seem to let go of our phones even for a minute.

But can you blame us? I mean, I am yet to fully navigate half of the features on my phone and just the mere thought of the amazing features that are yet to be discovered on my phone alone, eggs me on to keep exploring. I believe that @kenechukwu97 hit bulls eye when he said that " phones are insanely powerful"

I know that I am making the best use of my phone when I stay within the bounds of moral usage and not over step to abuse it. A wise man once said that;

*When the purpose of a thing is not known, abuse is inevitable.... Myles Munroe.

Basically, the phone was produced as a communication device before it graduated to a micro office device. There are a lot of things that can be done with the phone nowadays. To so many of us out there, our phone is now the head office, where work is being carried out 24/7. It has also become a means of transacting financially as many of us have mobile wallets on our phones for easy financial transactions and other multi faceted activities.

Knowing that I an using my phone for productive means, genetating income while still forging new relationships Is how I know that I am making the best use of my phone. I won't deny the fact that I used to be among those who couldn't do without their phones but after my health was affected severely, I needed no prophet to tell me that I was heading for doomsday, if I kept up that pace.

If I kept going, pushing past the bounds that is acceptable then certain areas of my life would suffer and the first would be my health. The old saying health is wealth" is rich in truth because only a truly healthy person understands the benefits.

The next area of my life that would suffer if my phone takes full control of its operations would be my social life. The social life I'm referring to here is basically my physical relationships and cooperations. Being glued to my phone would mean less amount of time to interact with my dear ones and soon enough, I'll be left all alone to myself. I don't need a geenie to tell me how detrimental that would be for me emotionally, psychologically and mentally as I know that humans are social beings, we all need each other in one way or another. That's one major quality that machines and robots can't fill in society, no mattrr how advanced they might be.

Learning to set limits on how I use my phone, remembering the fact that it can never replace my physical social interactions has helped me be the boss and not the other way round. Also creating a healthy balance between my social life and my phone life has helped stay sane, afloat and away from being a phone addict.

Thank you all for reading. This is my entry to the June edition of the #thinker's corner. Stay blessed everyone!

Images are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency