FungiFriday - A new colony

DSC_5940 copy.jpg


I asked my friend ChatGPT how long does it take for mushrooms to start growing on fallen tree, and this is the answer I got:

The time for mushrooms to grow on a fallen tree varies, typically starting within weeks to months. Factors like tree type, mushroom species, and environmental conditions play significant roles. Common wood-decaying mushrooms, such as oyster or shiitake, may appear within 3 to 6 months if conditions are favorable, including adequate moisture and temperature. Full colonization and regular fruiting might take a year or more, especially with larger or harder wood.
Source: ChatGPT

DSC_5943 copy.jpg

DSC_5944 copy.jpg


I admit that it is the lazy way of doing research. But I just wanted a quick answer, and this is the excuse I am going to stick to. It is always a good start for further research too.

DSC_5948 copy.jpg

DSC_5947 copy.jpg


I found this big Cork Tree trunk laying among some grasses. I am not sure how long it was there, but mushrooms started to appear already, and it got me wondering. But to be honest, I thought it takes way longer for the little guys to start popping.

The lichens you can also see are not exactly an ideation, as they grow on top of the bark anytime and when the tree is still alive and standing tall. Mushrooms, on the other hand, not always.

DSC_5945 copy.jpg

DSC_5952 copy.jpg


These last ones below remind me of sea slugs with their ruffly, colorful edges. Google them if you dont know how they look, and you will know what I mean :)


DSC_5950 copy.jpg


And a freshly grown plush toy :)


DSC_5959 copy.jpg


Bonus bugger crawling around the same trunk :)


DSC_5949 copy.jpg


How to join #FungiFriday:

  • when Friday comes (UTC time) post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, I will check and report stolen images or text!)
  • add #FungiFriday tag (it doesn't have to be your first tag)
  • Include "My contribution to #FungiFriday by @ewkaw" anywhere in your post.

Happy FungiFriday!

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos, graphics and text are my own.



mushrooms footer.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency