What To Do? Too Many Choices! pob-wotw Eureka

what to do.jpg

The beautiful young lady who recently moved into the neighborhood had just introduced herself to me - after following me for over a block! Ella obviously wanted something. But she was reluctant to share exactly what that was.

"Maybe if I knew what it looked like, I could help look?" I asked her. Although I had a pretty good idea what it was. Remembering that poor jogger disappearing made me determined to find out more, without letting on that I knew about the coin.

"It's, an old coin. It has weird writing on it, and is bigger than a quarter. I am offering a reward for it, if you or anyone else can help find it."

"I'll let you know if I see it. Maybe it's in the house. Have you checked yet?" She shook her head no. "It was a pleasure to meet you, Miss Harris." I said. "Eureka!" I shouted as she began to leave. She stopped, and arched an eyebrow.

"I just had an idea! Why not have a professional look over the house for it?"

I don't know if she was convinced, but she gave me a bright smile and a thank you. After a short conversation, she turned and walked away. I shuddered at the idea of that coin being in her possession.

The next day I was really busy. My Mom's old friend from university needed help to clean out her attic, and hired me to carry the unwanted items out to the curb. Her children had already taken what they wanted to keep. The rest was going to the needy. She had a lot of furniture up there. Let me tell you, if you ever need an adrenaline rush, try taking a desk that weighs twice as much as you down a steep flight of stairs!

At least she paid well, and even fixed a good lunch. A big burger, fries, milk, and cookies! I was very happy with the job, despite the hard work and almost being squashed like a bug. When I finished it was almost dark. As I walked past The Source, the old shopkeeper was locking up.

"Young man! Have you decided if you would like to sell your coin?" He asked, obviously delighted to see me.

"No Sir, I haven't decided yet. I will let you know soon." I said, just to get rid of him so I could get home in time for a late supper. He visibly drooped, then finished locking up as I walked away. I thought to myself, I really need to do something about that thing before it causes more trouble..

"Eureka!" I actually shouted it aloud and laughed as I sat in front of the TV eating. Lucky my parents were out for the evening. I will destroy the coin! This will end the whole mess, why hadn't I thought of it before! It looked and felt like pure gold, so it should melt easily.

I went to my room to get it. There was a scuffling noise when I opened the door. Someone was in there!

I switched on the light, just in time to see the window fall shut. It never would stay up without propping something under it. I ran over, but they were already gone.

Quickly I went to where I had hidden my coin collection. It had seemed wise, in case Mom decided to do some cleaning or something while I was out. It was rare, but sometimes she did come into my room for one reason or another. I didn't want her anywhere near such a dangerous object.

I wasn't too late, they were still there! I took the coin out, then went into the back yard. Heating up Dad's covered grill, I then dropped the coin amongst the glowing hot charcoal.

The pieces closest to it quickly began to cool, then went out, before they could do any damage. Moving it around just caused the rest of the coals to go out. Carefully picking up the coin, I noticed that it was still cool.

I guess I could throw it in a deep lake or something, but it could be like that game in the movie Jumanji. The one that always found victims despite being sunk or buried.

I guess I'm stuck with the coin - unless I want to sell it or give it to Ella!

This is a 100% power up post!

While this can be read as a standalone story, the characters have been used in previous articles.

#pob-wotw

Photo by Hasan Albari from Pexels and edited by me


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency