Storytelling contest - This is not a dream.

Wake up... wake up... WAKE UP!!! That scream in my head made me open my eyes and jump up from where I was laying. I took a look around and couldn't remember where I was. I tried to stay standing but 3 out of my 6 legs were too week, so I fell on the floor again. Wait, I have 6 legs? I look down and only saw 2, so why am I feeling like I have 6? donottrytothinktoohardabouthisyouwillonlygettired. I decided to try to stand again, forcing myself to look at my legs while I was doing it, and could get up easily. I think I'm getting used to this 2 legs ideia, I feel like I have been flying like this all my life. Wait, I'm flying? As soon as I think that, I hit the floor again and all my 6 legs hurt. trynottothinkabouthisifyouwanttogetout. Get out, seems like a good ideia. Look for a way out, a window, a door, a hole. There's a weird shape on the wall, just above the tall blind man. Wait, I'm not alone in here? How did I not see this man before? Why he only has 2 legs? I blink and he is gone, a door behind him. The shape of the wall is the shape of the keyhole. My fingers are in this shape too. I put my finger in the keyhole and the door opens...


Source

And when I feel the blinding light outside that dizzying room, I close my eyes and hear: "Happy Birthday to you ..." and confused I overcome the burning eyes and stunned that bunch of people in that squeezed environment that looked like a kitchen in an abandoned house, with those huge square fridges that you need scrape the ice every three weeks, a enameled shade baby blue 1982's gas stove with encrusted fat, the sink was full of dirty dishes, a really big pile of greasy pots gathering flies, the table in the center had a small Animaníacs-themed cake and an 8-year-old birthday candle lit, a bottle of coca cola opened by half an empty beer, but what completed the scene was the figures who were there, people, people I don't know who they are. I felt like a child at a two-year party where you don't know why so many strangers came to visit you. There were at least three drunken gentlemen smiling with vodka breath, some women in extremely uncomfortable clothes (the ones with shoulder pads) and about five children running around the table bumping into everything and making an eternal mess.

Next to the cake making a sign to me was my mother, yes, my mother! I recognized someone! She looked so young and motioned for me to go out there and blow out the candles. When I tried to walk to it I ended up flying and a disturbing beetle noise drowned out all the other tones of the party, the children looked at me with astonishment while I slowly gravitated, half-crooked and ridiculous, over the cake table with that BBZZZZZZZZZZ and at a certain moment my wings beat on the incandescent lamp (of those yellow, half-phase ones, which seem to compose an scene, so sad, that makes you want to cry) and with the beat the light failed. All the children scream, the old men fight for more candles, the women murmur and laugh quietly. One of the old people who looks a lot like my late grandfather shows that he found a package with many, many eight-year-old candles. Each one holds an eight-year-old candle while they are lit, and in the meantime my mother took me in her lap and nurtured me telling me not to worry. It's normal to be nervous on your birthday. She asks if I want to cry, even though I am holding back the cry, I say no. But, she, lit by the candlelight, says: -It’s okay to cry, just don't pull your arm so it doesn't hurt anymore, okay? It will be quick! And confused I do not understand, until I feel a painful sting in the arm and I realize that one of the women is dressed as a nurse (was she like that before?), Now there is a hose connected in my vein taking my blood somewhere, my round shell does not allow me to turn and follow the path of the hose, but it is long, it seems to go to another room.

Finally one of the old men who was on the table (the three went up and one even stepped on the cake) managed to change the lamp and now instead of that yellow light that caused a lump in the throat, it seems that they have connected a searchlight, one no, several! And when those white, caustic lamps came on, I finally got a better look at the room, it wasn't a kitchen, it was a big hospital room. But why did they party for me at the hospital? I tried to look at my mother with the doubt expressed on her face but she was so old, so old, he seemed barely able to sustain his own facial expression. And when the nurse realized that her arms were shaking to hold me in her lap she said: -Now it's time to let her rest, ok? She has already fulfilled the goals of this life. Do you have anyone else who can take care of her funeral? Because you go staying here another two years. And I was amazed that it could only be a misunderstanding, I looked at my mother again and she was dead. She died sitting, with a very tired face. And I asked the nurse: -Is it possible to die sitting? And she said: -Everything is possible, there are things that only God understands. And then with a great effort I managed to make a movement to fall out of bed and luckily I fell with my feets on the floor without having to ask for help for someone to turn me over.

The nurse roughly said that I shouldn't move around abruptly so I could interrupt the transfusion. And I asked who, why? I do not want! And she explains that it is for the man who waited in the next room and that I had indeed agreed to help him. However, no memory comes to me, I only remember the blind man. Was it him? And the nurse rolls up the warm blooded hose on the floor like a guitar cable and asks me to accompany her to the man, so that I’m less confused. I step inside the side door and notice that the wooden floor is more shiny and well maintained, the small room we arrived in is cozy, huge red curtains cover the wall behind the man, a soft rug with Persian patterns covers part of the wooden floor, a TV on a Sunday program with an image full of interference and noise shows a competition of celebrities trying to pop balloons in their private parts, a black furry cat with yellow eyes relaxes silently on a mattress decorated by an old bedspread of colors that are no longer found in the fabric industries and on the small red sofa (like the curtains) are the blind man.

My blood hose goes straight to one of his eyes, his left eye, it is connected by a plastic hospital plug and secured with bandages. The man seems calm, but catatonic, silent and indifferent to my presence. I try to understand the scene but nothing comes to me, and I look at the nurse with a doubt on her face and she smiles and says:
-It's going to be okay, don't worry. The master is very good for those who are good for him. Little by little I start to feel my left eye darkening and a tingling that seems to drain the entire eyeball, when I touch with my fingers I just feel a hole in its place, my eyelid is loose, hanging in an empty hole! And in that I violently pull the hose that takes my blood from the arm, but the more I pull it the more it will come out of the hole! After a while agonizing over the pain and trying to pull it out, I realize that the hose is my vein, my vein directly connected to the damn blind man! And I scream! I take flight BZZZZZZZZZ! I pass by the party environment, everyone is laughing and drinking, eating the stomped cake, I keep flying through the kitchen window and close my eyes wishing that the light outside is really a real way out of this hell! BZZZZZZzzzzzz The transfusion hose breaks and my blood spurts on the floor, but when I look at the arm it is black, it is shiny, like a shell, I watch the hairs, I look at the other hand and it’s also a shiny paw. I bang my head on the glass of the window! Pow! The fall is fast. I am on the floor, turned, I struggle with my six legs but I cannot turn, and I stand there in an infinite cosmic effort for a time that I no longer know how to count. The kids at the party run and run and at one point one of them steps on me CRUNCH! I scream really loud!

I get up from the bed screaming! The nurse who was there caring for the bed next to me calms me down: -That's okay, ready, it's over. You were delusional, now it's better, the drugs are working. I watch the environment in confusion, a hospital room, six beds, other patients, I must be in a public hospital, why am I tied up? My father with a worried face says nothing and looks hurt, sitting next to me. And the nurse waits for me to calm down and explains: -You don't remember anything? You were brought here yesterday, you had a psychotic flare induced by a very high dose of atropine and scapolamine, so it appears that you have been experimenting with Datura Estramonium. Things started to make sense in his mind. And his father, in a weak and sad voice, comments: - I told you not to read Castañeda's books, son! You can't believe everything you read! And immediately I remembered! -Where! Where's my book? Dad!!
And he say: -How would you want to read in the midst of this paranoia my son? Forget that shit! You have been waking up every three hours and despairing about reading that shit, I ended up buying a book at the newsstand here next to the hospital just to distract you until you get better, but the nurse said it could take up to a week.
And i said: -Which book? Where?

-It's there on your side, son, right there!

And then I pick up the crumpled book in a low-quality economic edition and see Kafka's face on the cover. "-Metamorphosis".

Thomas H N Blum

SEPARADOR-DE-TEXTO-1.png

E ao sentir a luz ofuscante do lado de fora daquele vertiginoso quarto eu fecho os olhos e escuto: "Parabens pra você nessa data querida..." e confuso supero a ardência ocular e olho abismado aquele monte de gente naquele ambiente espremido que parecia uma cozinha de uma casa abandonada, com aquelas geladeiras quadradas imensas que precisa-se raspar o gelo a cada três semanas, um fogão à gas encrustado em gordura e num tom esmaltado de azul bebê 1982, a pia estava repleta de loça suja, uma pilha realmente grande de panelas sebosas juntando moscas, a mesa no centro tinha um pequeno bolo com tema do Animaníacs e uma vela de 8 anos acesa, uma garrada de coca cola aberta pela metade de uma cerveja vazia, mas o que completava a cena era as figuras que ali estavam, pessoas, pessoas que eu não sei quem são. Me senti como uma criança na festa de dois anos em que você não sabe por que tantos estranhos vieram te visitar. Havia ao menos uns três senhores bêbados sorrindo com hálito de vodka, algumas mulheres com roupas extremamente desconfortáveis (daquelas com ombreiras) e umas cinco crianças que corriam em volta da mesa se esbarrando em tudo e fazendo uma eterna bagunça.

Ao lado do bolo fazendo sinal para mim estava minha mãe, sim, minha mãe! Eu reconheci alguém! Ela parecia tão jovem e fazia sinal com a mão para eu ir lá assoprar as velas. Quando eu fui tentar andar até ela acabei voando e um barulho perturbador de besouro abafou todos os outros tons da festa, as crianças olharam abismadas para mim que fui gravitando lentamente meio torto e ridículo por cima da mesa do bolo com aquele BBZZZZZZZZZZ e em determinado momento minhas asas bateram-se na lâmpada incandescente (daquelas amarelas, meia-fase, que parecem compor um ambiente tão, tão triste, que chega a dar vontade de chorar) e com a batida a luz falhou. Todas as crianças gritam, os velhos se batem procurando mais velas, as mulheres murmuram e riem baixo. Um dos velhos que parece muito com um avô meu já falecido mostra que encontrou um pacote com muitas, muitas velas de oito anos. Cada um segura uma vela de oito anos e nesse meio tempo enquanto elas são acesas, minha mãe me pegou no colo e acalenta-me dizendo pra não se preocupar. É normal ficar nervoso no aniversário. Ela pergunta se eu quero chorar, apesar de eu estar segurando o choro, digo que não. Mas, ela, iluminada pela luz da vela diz: Não tem problema se chorar, só não puxe o braço pra não doer mais, ta bem? Vai ser rapidinho! E confuso eu não entendo, até que sinto uma picada dolorosa no braço e percebo que uma das mulheres está vestida de enfermeira (ela estava assim antes?), agora há uma mangueira conectada em minha veia levando meu sangue para algum lugar, minha carapaça redonda não permite eu me virar e acompanhar o caminho da mangueira, mas ela é longa, parece que vai para outro quarto.

Finalmente um dos velhos que estava em cima da mesa (os três subiram e um inclusive pisou no bolo) conseguiu trocar a lâmpada e agora ao invés daquela luz amarela que causava nó na garganta, parece que ligou um holofote, um não, vários! E quando aquelas brancas e cáusticas lâmpadas acenderam eu finalmente consegui ver melhor o ambiente, não era uma cozinha, era um grande quarto de hospital. Mas por que fizeram festa pra mim no hospital? Tentei olhar pra minha mãe com a dúvida expressa no rosto mas ela estava tão velha, tão velha, parecia mal poder sustentar sua própria expressão facial. E quando a enfermeira percebeu que os braços dela estavam tremendo de me segurar no colo disse: -Agora é hora de deixar ela descansar, ok? Ela já cumpriu as metas dessa vida. Você tem mais alguém que pode cuidar do enterro dela? Por que você vai ficar aqui mais dois anos. E eu abismado achando que aquilo só poderia ser um mal entendido olhei novamente para minha mãe e ela estava morta. Morreu sentada, com um rosto de muito cansaço. E eu perguntei pra enfermeira: -É possível morrer sentada? E ela disse: -Tudo é possível, tem coisas que só Deus entende. E então com um esforço muito grande consegui fazer um movimento de cair da cama e felizmente caí com os pés no chão sem precisar pedir ajuda para alguém desvirar-me.

A enfermeira com aspereza disse que eu não deveria me movimentar bruscamente assim por que poderia interromper a transfusão. E perguntei para quem, por que? Eu não quero! E ela explica que é para o homem que esperava no cômodo ao lado e que eu havia sim aceitado ajuda-lo. Porém, nenhuma memória me vem, eu só lembro do homem cego. Seria ele? E a enfermeira enrola a mangueira de sangue quente que está pelo chão como se fosse um cabo de guitarra e pede para eu acompanha-la até o homem, para que eu fique menos confuso. Adentro a porta lateral e percebo que o chão de madeira está mais lustroso e bem cuidado, o pequeno quarto em que chegamos é aconchegante, cortinas vermelhas imensas cobrem a parede atrás do homem, um tapete macio com padrões persas cobre parte do chão de madeira, uma TV ligada num programa de domingo com uma imagem cheia de interferência e ruído mostra uma competição de famosos tentando estourar balões nas partes íntimas, um gato peludo preto de olhos amarelos relaxa silenciosamente num colchonete decorado por uma colcha antiga de cores que não são mais encontráveis nas industrias de tecido e no pequeno sofá vermelho (tal como as cortinas) está o homem cego.

A mangueira do meu sangue vai direto para um de seus olhos, o olho esquerdo, é conectada por um plug hospitalar de plástico e preso com ataduras. O homem parece tranquilo, porém catatônico, silencioso e indiferente a minha presença. Eu tento compreender a cena mas nada me vem, e eu olho para a enfermeira com uma dúvida no rosto e ela sorri e diz: -Vai ficar tudo bem, não se preocupe. O mestre é muito bom para quem é bom para ele. Pouco a pouco começo a sentir meu olho esquerdo escurecendo e um formigamento que parece drenar todo o globo ocular, quando toco com os dedos sinto apenas um buraco no lugar dele, minha pálpebra está solta, pendurada num buraco vazio! E nisso arranco violentamente a mangueira que tira o meu sangue do braço, mas quanto mais a puxo mais ela vai saindo de dentro do buraco! Depois de um tempo agonizando pela dor e tentativa de arranca-la percebo que a mangueira é minha veia, a minha veia diretamente ligada no maldito cego! E eu grito! Eu levanto voo BZZZZZZZZZ! Passo pelo ambiente da festinha, todos estão rindo e bebendo, comendo o bolo pisoteado, sigo voando pela janela da cozinha e fecho os olhos desejando que aquela luz lá de fora seja de fato uma saída real que eu saia desse inferno! BZZZZZZzzzzzz A mangueira de transfusão rompe-se e meu sangue jorra no chão, mas ao olhar para o braço ele é preto, é brilhoso, como uma casca, observo os pelinhos, olho para a outra mão e também é uma pata brilhosa. Eu bato com a cabeça no vidro da janela TUC! A queda é rápida. Estou no chão, virado, me debato com minhas seis patas mas não consigo me virar, e fico ali num esforço cósmico infinito por um tempo que já não sei mais contar. As crianças da festinha correm e correm e em certo momento uma delas pisa em mim CRUNCH! Eu grito muito alto!

Levanto da cama gritando! A enfermeira que ali estava atendendo a cama ao lado me acalma: -Ta tudo bem, pronto, já passou. Você estava delirando, agora já está melhor, os medicamentos já estão fazendo efeito. Observo confuso o ambiente, um quarto de hospital, umas seis camas, outros pacientes, devo estar num hospital público, por que estou amarrado? Meu pai com um semblante preocupado não fala nada e parece magoado, sentado ao meu lado. E a enfermeira espera eu me acalmar e explica: -Você não lembra de nada? Você foi trazido ontem aqui, teve um surto psicótico induzido por uma dose muito alta de Atropina e Escapolamina, pelo que relataram parece que você vinha fazendo algumas experiências com Datura Estramonium. As coisas começaram a fazer sentido em sua mente. E seu pai com uma voz fraca e triste comenta: - Eu te falei para não ler os livros do Castañeda meu filho, não dá pra acreditar em tudo que se lê! E imediatamente eu lembrei! -Cadê! Cade meu livro pai? -Como você ia querer ler no meio dessa paranoia meu filho? Esqueça essa merda! Você tem acordado a cada três horas e se desespera querendo ler aquela desgraça, acabei comprando um livro na banca de jornal aqui do lado do hospital só pra te distrair até você melhorar, mas a enfermeira disse que pode levar até uma semana isso. -Qual livro? Cadê? -Está aí do eu lado filho, aí do lado!
E então eu pego o livro amassado numa edição econômica de baixa qualidade e vejo o rosto de Kafka na capa. A Metamorfose.

Thomas H N Blum


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency