Meet the Swan family of Raith Lake ~ Susie Stevie and Blueberry Pie!

Hello Hello People of the Hive!

Tomorrow is July, half way through the year, this is just such a fast flowing year!

What springs to mind when you think of white?

For me it is snow ❄️and swans 🦢!



This post will be a compilation of some of my favourite swans for the POBphotocontest New Round: WHITE by @friendlymoose


IMG_0884.JPG


If you would like to participate in the weekly contest, then please see the original post and adhere to the rules below from @friendlymoose and take from his announcentment post POBphotocontest New Round: WHITE

Rules
Create a post with your photo
Add a (short) description of your photo. What do we see? Where did you take it? Why did you take it?
Add the #pobphotocontest tag to that post (this is how I can find all submissions).
You can add more photos to that post, but only the first one in your post will be your submission for the contest.
Place a link to the post you created in the comment on this announcement post.
You can add your image to the comment too.

IMG_0435.JPG

As we go through the post, I shall tell you more about the Swan family.

First of all though I shall say that the location in is Raith Lake in the two where I live, which is in Kirkcaldy in the Kingdom of Fife in Scotland.

IMG_0439.JPG

All the pictures are of mute swans and were taken by me with my new toy 📸 which is a Canon Powershot HS70 bridge camera.

I buy swan food from Amazon that comes in the form of little brown pellets, you can see them floating in the water. The swans love it and it is full of nutrients and vitamins that need.

IMG_0449.JPG

I have taken many pictures of swans in Beveridge Park in Krkcaldy of Susie and Stevie Swan and the children the pies.

However they have relocated to Raith Lake and the is Mum Susie flying back to her nest.

IMG_0442.JPG

The picture above is a cygnet from last year. There are two giveaways. Do you know what they are?

The first is his feathers, they are not competely white and still have the tan coloured camouflagued feathers I call them.

The second is the colour and shape of his beak. His beak is black.

IMG_0450.JPG

Here you can see mum Suies sitting on her nest, and look at her orange beak with the big black knob at the top. That is the easiest way to spot if a swan is an adult or not.

IMG_0453.JPG

This was dad Stevie coming to say hello. Some people get intimidated by swans, but I talk to them and I feed them and them come up to me. They really are majestical creatures as far as I am concerned.

IMG_0467.JPG

I took this with my zoom and was the Swan family on their little reed island, I shot it from the path on the other side of the lake. You can see mum Susie sitting on her nest and dad Stevie having a little rest. Last years cygnet blueberry-pie I call him is up looking guard.

IMG_0550.JPG

Dad Stevie was preening himself on the water.

IMG_0721.JPG

This is Susie on her nest.

IMG_0714.JPG

I called her and zoomed in to show her feathers on her beak, she must have been preening herself.

IMG_0712.JPG

I did call them over and it was Dad Stvie that came first.

IMG_0735.JPG

That was him starting to tuck into the pellets.

IMG_0743.JPG

While Susie and Stevie came to eat, they left child blueberry-pie to watch the nest.

IMG_0748.JPG

This was Dad Stevie saying hello again!

IMG_0759.JPG

I had seen another pair of swans at the far end of the lake, and went to find them, however Dad Stevie and blueberry-pie followed me.

IMG_0764.JPG

IMG_0761.JPG

Yes they still wanted more food!

IMG_0767.JPG

I love the reflections in the water.

IMG_0765.JPG

I am not sure which pair this are from, they look too big to be the cygnets from Beveridge Park of last year.

IMG_0780.JPG

Nor did I find their nest, so I am guessing they are a pair that have not become mates for life yet.

IMG_0782.JPG

But they do have fun chumming around together!

IMG_0835.JPG

Now winter is well and truly over they are starting to plump again which is good.

IMG_0842.JPG

And of course Susie just loves to look so darn cute with her little sideways glances!

IMG_0840.JPG

You can see the water levels have dropped as Susie is standing in that picture and normally she would be swimming there.

IMG_0864.JPG

This last picture was the male showing off for his female, or pehaps he is trying to make her his female, and by the way she is the swan in the very first picture.


So there we have it, my 🦢 swan 🦢 pictures and my entry for WHITE.

I am hoping the rain eases off so I can get back there in the next week or so and get an update on the new set of swan cygnets the 2022 pies for @coquicoin

silver_divider_logo.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman @TengoLoTodo unless otherwise stated.

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

Pictures taken by me with my Canon Powershot HS70 bridge camera
at Raith Lake, Kirkcaldy, Scotland
@ tengolotodo 30/06/200

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency