pieces of old technology

My post goes for POBphotocontest by @friendlymoose. The week theme was 'Technology' -- an intresting prompt, I found myself hooked up on it. After some consideration I made this selection of macro photos...

dice-06w-h.jpg

The dice: an ancient time-tested technology for generation of random numbers... eco-friendly, energy-saving, simple - even a kid will be able to use it.

Кости: старинная технология рандомной генерации случайных цифр... экологичная, энергосберегающая, простая - этим даже ребенок сумеет пользоваться.


dice-10w-h.jpg


2021-tech-0032w-h.jpg

Vintage video card MATROX Millenium G200 for PCI port, with 8MB memory onboard! I keep this part from my first computer as a memento; sometime in the early 2000s it was a top professional solution for a graphic station and an ultimate dream! by the time we didn’t dare to dream about flat-panel 24" monitors, it was totally out of the question, they were not even at the horizon.

Старинная видеокарточка MATROX MILLENIUM G200 - порт PCI и 8MB памяти на борту! Я сохранил эту часть от своего первого компьютера на память, когда-то в начале 2000-х годов это было профессиональное решение и предел мечтаний! а про плоские мониторы мы тогда и не мечтали...

2021-tech-0036w-hs.jpg

Isnt it nice? Light and magic, a candy!

2021-tech-0041w-h.jpg


2021-tech-0093w-hs.jpg

Pentium 1 processors - no, they are not from my computer. By the way, my first PC was a Pentium 486 DX100!

Процессоры Пентиум 1 - нет, это не из моего компьютера. Кстати, мой первый РС был Pentium 486 DX100!


2021-tech-0087w-h.jpg

SCSI technology was the fastest, the top and most professional for its time. I used this SCSI cable to connect the Heidelberg Sapphire Ultra 2 scanner.

Технология SCSI - топовая и самая профессиональная и быстродействующая, для своего времени. Этот SCSI кабель я использовал для подключения сканера Heidelberg Sapphire Ultra 2.


hell.jpg

#img #src: auctions.yahoo.co.jp -- one of the top flatbed scanners of its time, too. My copy is packed in the cellar, so I couldnt take the picture myself.


2021-tech-0018w-hs.jpg

Let me finish the post with this piece of my collection, I do not use it but keep it with honour. Did anybody use such a mouse, I wander? "Terrific, horror, it has no wheel, impossible to use!" -- one would complain. Yes, this technology has not yet been implemented... as LEDs have not yet been attached to the mouse. Lets check what's there inside:

Позвольте мне закончить пост на этом экспонате. Кто из вас пользовался такой мышкой? Кошмар, ужас, у неё нет колесика! - скажет молодое поколение. Да, эту технологию ещё не придумали... как ещё не приделали к мышкам светодиоды. Смотрите, что у неё внутри:


2021-tech-0022w-h.jpg

You may guess, over the years I have owned many mice, tried products of different brands... This three-button Logitech was the top of its kind, the maximum of technology, the most comfortable and reliable mouse. Yes, she required periodic cleaning - which was carried out pretty simply with the naked hands. I have kept the most pleasant memories of this mouse. It was with these clicks that I first played DOOM, Heretic, and Fallout 2.

Как вы понимаете, за все эти годы я был владельцем многих мышек, пробовал продукты разных брендов... Этот трехкнопочный Logitech - в своем роде топ, максимум технологии -- самая удобная и надёжная мышь. Да, она требовала периодически чистки - которая элементарно выполнялась невооруженными руками. Я сохранил самые приятные воспоминания об этой мышке. Именно ей я прокликал весь DOOM, Heretic, и Fallout 2.


2021-tech-0028w-hs.jpg

sep1201.png


All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency