Importance of setting boundaries

I am a person who is very clear about my Dos and Don'ts and I do not even shy off to inform the opposite person about this. But in the last few months I really do not understand what happened to me and I was becoming submissive. And this was happening to me in one particular HR project I had taken up for a Company.

The Company was of a good friend of mine, so initially I was trying to accommodate as much as possible, I was giving a Yes to almost all of their demands. But in a few months' time, I started feeling uncomfortable and I realized that somewhere I was getting exploited for my kindness. I had very clearly informed them that I would not be working on friday and saturday, but they would keep making request for me to accommodate, saying please consider special circumstances. I was doing it for some time, but then I noticed, it had become their regular habit of making such request, and since I was not saying No to them, maybe they started taking me for granted. They would call me up at any odd hours. The agreement made with them was almost like of no use.

For quite some time, it kept playing on my mind, and my hubby would say, tell them very clearly what you can do and what you cannot. Anyways even the type of work was getting on me, it was more about punishing people all the time for not doing something or the other. They would hardly see good in people, and that part was also annoying me at a great extent. I am a person who always want to motivate people and not discourage them, and here something I was expected to do exactly opposite. They were paying me very well, so that was one reason also that I was not able to make an easy decision of quitting it. But then it was going way over my tolerance level, I did also mention to them about the contract, but it was like that part was just ignored. Finally, I made a firm decision to quit and I quit the project.

image.png
Source

Honestly, I was so much at relief mentally, and some big lessons learnt.
No matter whoever it is in your life, it is important to set boundaries for yourself. It is important that you speak up at the right time and do not shy off. There are people who are always waiting to take advantage of your kindness or your meekness. When you do not speak up at the right time, you can be easily taken for granted. You give out that signal that you are available for exploitation. Do not expose out yourself so much to people, so that they start thinking you are weak and they can do anything with you.

Be it a personal relation or your professional environment, setting boundaries for yourself is very important.

Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈ

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency