IN MEMORY OF MICHAEL (SNR)

pexels-pixabay-415767.jpg

Source

it's been over a decade of living without a father, save the heavenly one. But his person not just his memory is very much alive. He doesn't seem dead to me. It's more like someone who went on very a long journey to return one of these days.

Well, maybe that's what death actually is; a journey into the underworld. I have heard of death's many tales and mysteries. I believe in one of its stories. One of the stories concerning death is where my faith is anchored, not just as an opium for my wretched soul to get drunk in and stay dead to the harsh reality of life, this particular death's story is rather life to me. Hence my true reality. It defines my path and structures purpose on earth. The story is that of victory over death. It's that of resurrection. It's the firm evidence of someone who defied death some centuries ago. It's the story of immortality and life eternal. It's the theory that postulates that life is beyond this earthy suit, called the body. Though the earthy suit can get wrinkled and get out of use, life in itself continues in the great beyond. It's a story that downplays death, it shows that death is not the end but only a transitioning. The story is that of hope. A living hope really. The only true hope I know of.

If there's no form of truth in this story, then humans are overrated aferall, they are not different from the grass that blossoms today and withers away tommorow. Their life is but a vapour that appears for a little while only to vanish away; so says a sage.

But with this story, there's a hope that though life vanishes away from this sphere, it continues in another, and one of these days our loved ones with this hope will be seen.

A consolation that has made it bearable for me to contain my father's absence. He left with this faith. He went on a journey, if he doesn't return, I will join him but not anytime soon. Lol.

The fondest memory I have of my dad is that of his unalloyed faith in my intellectual capability. When it comes to bookishness my father's faith in me was absolute.

While in secondary school I was once constrained to stay away from school for a whole term. It was further complicated with the fact that it was in a certificate examination class. I had an external exam to write. After the contraints were taken care of and it was time for me to return to school, my dad had to go meet the commandant (the school's head) to narrate my ordeal. He explained to him what kept me away, peradventure I'll be permitted to return. I was in a military school, it wasn't a kind of institution you could just stroll in and out at will, it was quite an organized system.

The commandant had no problem with my return, but he was concerned. How on earth is somebody that missed about four months of lectures is supposed to join his classmates in writing an external examination that was to commence in just about month time?

"Hope you know we don't help people here?" That's what he said to my dad. "If that is is your concern, then there's really no cause for it. I trust my son's ability", replied my dad.

Long story cut short. I returned to school and joined myself to my classmates who rallied around to bring me up-to-date. It was such a great show of love. The examination came up, I wrote and passed without a dot of failure.

My intellectuality is still intact and it has paved way for me in many occasions, but my foremost supporter is transited to the the great beyond.

Yesterday was father's day it can't be too late to wish such an impeccable dad a happy father's day.

IMG_20210620_115333_350.jpg

Happy father's day dad. This your boy is grateful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency