How well do you love yourself?

identity-795295__480.webp

Source

Some of us go about shouting self-love, but it looks like, it is only few of us that truly love ourself for real.

One of the core element of love is attention. You can't claim to love someone without lavishing the person with attention.

Even when we get to love an activity, we spend such a huge period of our time on such activity.

Of all the gestures that suggest that someone is into you, I believe that the greatest has to be attention. If you give me your time or attention, the truth is, that alone is more than what I could possibly ask for.

When people start showering us with attention, it's likely that they have some form of interest in us. It might be nothing romantic, but it suggests that we are at least something to them.

Do you love yourself?

i-love-myself-417267__480.webp

Source

Before you say yes, tell me how much of attention you do give to yourself.

Some of us are interested in everything but ourselves.

We seem to know;

  • the latest celebrity gossip,

  • the latest couples who just filed for divorce,

  • who is cheating on who, and who isn't.

In every dispute we know who is right and who is not.

We spend so much time and energy following people's drama, but the very thing that will make us better, we seem to lack time for it.

How can you live this way, while claiming to love yourself?

I do say that a day shouldn't pass without you adding to yourself. That's to say that you should wake up daily and do things that will will take you a step closer to achieving the goal you have set for yourself.

Get busy with your life. Give yourself some attention.

Personally these are areas of my life I wish to grow daily.

  1. Spirituality: I believe in God and other extraterrestrial beings. I believe that God's influence can be felt and seen. I therefore endeavour to read my Bible daily, pray and and meditate on the scriptures.

  2. Intellectuality: I want to maintain a sound sense of reasoning. Therefore I always read and listen to materials that hone my thinking faculties.

  3. Career: I certainly wanna climb my career's ladder as much as I can. As the day goes by, I try to become even more meticulous in service delivery. I also get to learn the ropes of my trade the more.

  4. Emotionality: I want to be able to control how I feel and not the other way round. I am on journey of becoming more of that person with a personal value code. I want to be able to stay happy and joyous irrespective of what someone does or say to me. I want to able to stay calm even when I'm supposed to be angry. I don't want to transfer aggression on anyone. Even when I have a rough day, I should be able to go home and relate well with my wife kids, when I start a family. For these reasons, I engage in positive self talk, I read on emotional intelligence as well listening to coaches who speak on it.

  5. Finance: I also wanna be financially intelligence and responsible, not just for myself, but for the kids I'm gonna raise. As a result, I read on investments, and also try to stay updated on the latest investment opportunity around.

  6. Relationship/Sociality: I wanna be better in relating with people from from all works of life, with no iota of prejudice.
    I'm single, so I'm interested in building healthy friendship that would perhaps translate to a lasting union. So in the midst of what seem like a busy schedule, I do escape, to say "hi" to prospective bae. 😀Staying in tune with my mum and siblings is what I'm also careful to do. So I should not be too busy to pick up my phone and speak with mum and my siblings; even paying occasional visits

Personally, those are what I want. So if the much mouthed self-love is to hold even a droplet of water. I should be able to work everyday to ensure that I'm on track to fulfilling the above listed.

I believe that you also have things that are important to you. How much attention are you giving them?

I am not trying to sound like I've figured it all out. Truth be told, I haven't.

But I believe that it's pertinent that I renew my resolutions or goals, just so that I nudge myself into greater action.

This is just me, encouraging you as I encourage me.

Give attention to yourself.
Invest your time on the things and people that are important to you.
I believe that, that is the only you can practically show that you love yourself
.

Yours in the struggle @mmykel.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency