Roadside Market Vendors

The theme for the #pobphotocontest this week is a recent photo. When I saw the topic I just smiled because I knew that I wasn't gonna miss it. Infact I love the idea because no day passes by without me taking random pictures of anything that catches my fancy.

So I was at the market on Friday and while buying things I had to capture these images.

You may wonder why this photo. Well this is to show you typical roadside vendors found in one of the popular markets in my city, Aba. These vendors stay under an umbrella from morning till evening whether it is raining or under the sun just to make a living.
Most of them have been selling by the roadside for years. Each person has a portion allocated to them, and they pay daily ticket.

Looking at the photo, you can see the wares neatly displayed. There's cooking oils - palm oil and vegetable oil, salts and seasoning cubes,


I'm sure most of you aren't so familiar with the palm oil. Some call it red oil due to its color but its actually palm oil because it was produced from palm fruits, If you know palm tree, then you should know it's fruits too. 😉
The palm oil comes in various bottle sizes and prizes- 150 sold at ₦1600, 75cl for ₦800 and 37.5cl for ₦400.
Same thing goes for the vegetable oil, the 75cl you see there is sold at ₦1700.

The idea behind filling the oils in different plastic bottles is to satisfy their customer's various choices.


. There's also the fresh pepper. Pepper is very expensive now, I wonder why. The smaller portions you see displayed here are sold for ₦500 each and the bigger ones for ₦1,000 each.


The dry ones aren't left out . You can see that they are of different types, the long ones and the short ones. The prices also differ. .A cup,, just about the quantity in the guy's hands is ₦500, The one in the basin is ₦800 a cup while that in the bag is ₦700.

With the cost of goods are increasing by the day, I'm sure their prices will go up¡ by the next week.
It's getting worse by the day, no one is spared from this dying economy. 😥


Thank you for reading..


Still the #threadsaddict 😂



Arthur's Photos Captured With Infinix Hot 10i Phone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency