Tamale Weekend Visit: Day 1

Last Thursday I went out of town and have largely been absent from Blurt. I got home 4am Monday morning and I have only made one post.

IMG_0085.JPG

My girlfriend Dzigbordi is from a city in the Norther Region of Ghana called Tamale. It is the largest city in the area and takes about 14 hours to get there by bus. It had been a while since she had been home and her family is very much aware of me so it seemed like a good time to make a visit. Our time was a little limited due to her work schedule though so we left on a Thursday afternoon and returned early yesterday (Monday morning) so she could make it to work.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-03 at 22.54.12.jpeg

This weekend trip will need to be broken up into a few parts. I will start with the trip there, craft market visit, family aspect of things and post a few pictures.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-03 at 22.54.12 (1).jpeg

We arrived early Friday morning about 7:30 am in Tamale after the 14 hour over night bus trip. It was too early to check into the hotel so we decided to go straight to Dzigbordi's family's place. This involved a ride in a tuktuk or what they locally call a yellow yellow. It took about 20 minutes to get to our stop.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-03 at 22.54.12 (2).jpeg

From the main road side we had about a 10 minute walk to her house.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-02 at 18.13.52.jpeg

When we arrived I met Dzigbordi's mother and father and received a warm welcome. Me and her father got along well and had a nice chat. I eat some soup with some rice balls. We did not stay too long though as we were tired from our trip. We soon went back across town to a hotel to rest a while.

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-03 at 22.54.13.jpeg

Later in the evening we went to the center of town to a place I had been before, when I had visited Tamale for work. I had a beer on the roof top and we had some dinner.

From there we went to a place that is a popular hang out in town especially for expats. We were going to meet a friend of Dzigbordi's one of her friends boyfriends who lives in the city. Before we went I looked the place up online and was excited because it was said they did craft beer brewing. But when we got there I learned they were no longer doing it as the owners had gone back to Sweden. A letdown but I met her friend some other interesting people had my regular beer to drink and tried a slice of good pizza. From there we went back to the hotel for the night to rest as we had a full day the next day.

Shot with a Canon M10 Digital SLR camera and an Infinix Smart 3 Plus phone


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency