Marriage is not all about paying dowry

Hello beauty people!
I bring special greetings to you all, hope we are good and enjoying the weekend? The weekend has been a blessed one for me.

I was having a cool chat yesterday with a friend and the chat was all centered on getting married. He made mention of his elegibility to get married as long as he has Money can settle for dowry and I told my him view too.

Among what he said was that usual admonishment by married people(yes married People Know how to advice young ones to get married), to find an easy going girl, pay her dowry and the two should struggle together to build a good home afterall, two heads are better than one. Do you get it? He meant if you can pay the dowry, that means you are ready to get married.

The concept and idea from him and the married people is very good because I've seen many people adopting the method but don’t you don’t that having a wedding does not only mean being able to pay a dowry? I poured my mind to him about how I see getting married as it's not just the dowry or organizing a party per say, sustenance and continuity matters a lot. What if after paying the dowry, having a mind blowing party and the accumulated money in the account get finished and no other way for money to come in, and to make it worst, the two of your are still struggling to get a good business or job?🤷.

I've seen movies of this nature and even though movies oftentimes end well, we we are talking about reality here.

As a matter of fact, I jokingly told my friend that with my condition right now, if a lady walks up to me and offer to be my wife to be, I wont fall for it because I have plans I'm working with and anything marriage would chop it off with a bite. Trust Ladies!

He went further to justify his belief that if we say we have plans to settle down financially first before getting married then it would take a long time because the more day breaks, the more the expenses and the routine continues like that. And I told him that being financially stable is different from having a regular source of income.

Having a regular source of income here could be attached to having a regular(plus good) paying job that you are sure of monthly or weekly salary or having a business that brings in money to your account regularly even though its not huge. That regular matters alot💯.

I know this thought is against most of your beliefs but that’s what I think when the thing “settling down comes” to play.

Wait first;

Do we still have girls that follows “trying guys” to marriage? The last time I checked they were all concerned about what they see first and not minding weather the future is bright or dim. I mean it's hard to find ladies that woukld say “let's marry and struggle together”, it's very rare these days…you only see that via local movies. Nowadays ladies look at your flashy life to get along.

How much is dowry that one can not pay?
Image source

Let me give you a sharp scenario;

Let's say you have 10BCH currently in your wallet and a miracle happens that BCH moves to the moon to $1,400(that's is now $14,000). Checking the amount you have in your wallet, you'll see that you have what can afford a dowry(depending on the country,region and tradition of the place). So because you now have $7,000 should you now go and marry when you don’t have any other means to get money again when you're done?

In some places, to organize a marriage is not costly and anyone could afford it but what happens after the wedding?

I'm stopping here, thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency